October 26, 2011

  • Second Month + Sewing + Giveaways!


    Hi buddies!  I’m here for a quick update before having to get back to keeping track of 1 toddler, 1 newborn & 1 furbaby.  There’s a lot of pee, poop and sleep that I need to keep track of on a daily basis! 

    Monumental Meltdowns & Magical Moments

    There were a few weeks when I didn’t have any help and I really struggled.  I couldn’t help but wonder…Am I doing something wrong?  Is it supposed to be this hard?  I really appreciated how honest my friend was when she told me that the first year after having her second kid was the hardest year of her life.  It made me realize that I’m not alone.  I’m not the only one who thinks this transition is sooo tough.

     

    You hear lots of crying at our house these days – Evan throwing a tantrum, Joy crying because she’s hungry, Bella barking at a cat outside.  Evan’s meltdowns have been monumental.  Sometimes we’re just baffled and don’t know what to do. 

    As hard as it’s been to handle the tantrums, there are so many magical moments that just seem to make everything better in an instant. 

    A Sewing Dream Come True 

    I’ve always wanted to learn how to sew.  A lifelong dream has finally come true~ I can proudly say that I can sew!  Here are a few of my first sewing projects.

     

    I love fabric so even before I knew how to sew I started collecting fabric.  My collection was a mess until I ran into this awesome tutorial.

    iPhone/iTouch Case

    I really wanted this Leica iPhone case from Clickin Moms but never had a chance to get it.  I saw a giveaway online and gave it a shot.  I was totally surprised when they said I got one!  The best part is they said I could have one to give away too!

     [photo source]

    The case is super cute and looks like a vintage Leica camera!  It also has an anti-glare camera ring.  Since I take so many photos with my iPhone any upgrades to the camera are a big bonus.  I’ve had lots of cases before (good & bad) and this is my favorite so far!  It’s sturdy, cute and makes me smile whenever I see it.

     [photo source]

    So if you think this case is as fabulous as I do then just leave a comment by midnight PST on 10/30/11 and I’ll randomly pick someone!  [Congrats HSookiC!]  You can also buy your own on the Clickin Moms website.

    Target Missoni

    I’m not familiar with the real Missoni line but I love chevron patterns~ lol!  The whole Target Missoni craziness happened last month and I couldn’t get in on the great deals because it was right after I had Joy.  I heard that some stores were sold out within minutes of opening and the website kept crashing.  I was able to talk to a very nice customer service person who tracked down a handful of makeup bags for me!

    I felt so lucky that I nabbed these for myself and a few friends so I’d like to share one with you too!  Just leave a comment by midnight PST on 10/30/11 and I’ll randomly pick someone!  [Congrats Stacy Sung!]

    iPhone Love

    Funny how of all the photos I took of Evan & Eleni my favorite ones ended up being iPhone photos. 

    Hope you all have a wonderful Halloween!  Can’t wait to see your costumes~~!  Here’s a peek at a little tiger…

Comments (101)

  • OMG! I’m so in love with your little Joy!!!! What are you feeding her?! She’s so chubby and delicious!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH *dying. :D so the picture of her with the pink ribbon wrapped around her head.. reminds me SO much of MY baby!!!! They do the same frown/intense stare! :D HAHAHAHA. my heart feels like bursting with love. lol.
    on another note. :( those pictures of evan crying are so heartbreaking!! :( so sad. hope hope hope the amount of crying in your house decreases real fast. sending lots of love your way.
    lastly. i already know you’re super woman! adding sewing to the list?! :D haha. those dresses and bags you made are SO adorable! you should start an Etsy store!!! LOVE your fabric collection! btw. did you make that elephant too?! please say no. :D
    oh. one last thing. um. Micah’s very unhappy that another little girl is kissing her future boyfriend! she says lips to yourself! HA. love you guys!

  • You are not only a SUPERMOM and amazing photographer but now you can sew too!! *what can you not do mama??*
    Miss you and I need to meet JOY soon~~ :) *sending you a BIG PHAT hug*

  • look at joy’s cheeks!!!! ahhh!!! sooooo super duper cute!!! and i cannot believe u added sewing to your neverending list of awesome talents, you are so crafty and talented, i love the elephant pincushion, did you make one for every guest @ the shower or was it just for fun? either way, TOO ADORABLE!! you are supermama, i dont know how you take care of two kids, a dog, and have time to track down missoni stuff, enter giveaways, and host giveaways of your own!!! and i bet you are getting crackin on planning for evan’s bday too.  you’re AMAZING!!

  • oh my goodness i am feeling your pain.  charlie’s meltdowns have been monumental lately.  life with two is soooo hard.  i hope things get better for you soon so you can enjoy being a mom of two!

    ps  that is one gorgeous fabric collection!

  • AAAHHH!  Great photos!  I love the photo of Joy wearing the pink ribbon on her head.  She looks like a tiny little Rambo!  :P   I love her frown too.  Evan is probably trying to adjust to all the new things in the house.  Poor fellow, I hope he starts to verbally tell you he’s frustrated instead of throwing a tantrum.  :(   *hugs*

    I love the Iphone photos.  I can’t wait to get my mits on my own Iphone :D   *Drool drool drool…..

    :)   Someday I’ll meet you in person with Evan and Joy :)

  • You are super duper mommy. Love your little Tigger and your chubby wubby Joy. She is an absolute Joy! I have just got gotten an iphone and I am loving it. I’m wondering why I didn’t jump ship much sooner. heheh my 2 little ones are still a handful.. I just don’t know how other mommies with more than 2 do it.. it still amazes me…

  • Those dresses are the cutest!! You should open up a etsy store and sell them!

  • OMG. I just got my first iPhone and I am o Wessex with iPhone cases!!!   I love your camera iPhone case!!! SO cute!  You are a jack of all trades!  Can’t believe u have the time tO sew!  Let’s get together neighbor!  Hope I get the iphone case.  ;)

  • oh jenny! so sorry that it’s been so hard – i really think it’s that age. i can tell that from last year to this year has been a HUGE difference w/ huddy. you are so awesome to be able to see the brighter side of things in all things. i even loved how you captured evan’s tantrums! for sure, you will look back on it and smile.

    my dream is to sew too!!! i used to do it and love it when i was in jr. high but haven’t touched a machine since. are you self-taught?! i wish i lived closer to you so i could get some lessons from you! i can’t even believe you already made all those cute things!!! you are already pro – WOW! you amaze me mama. what kind of machine do you have? i might have to ask santa for one this year :) .

    i love that iphone case – too bad i don’t have an iphone. that is sooo aweseome! can i still be in the drawing? perhaps i can win it for my bro.

    love all your updates! take care chingoo!

  • whenever i think im creative.. your amazing design capabilities give me another reality check.. that i just cannot measure up!  you are one fabulous momma.. please hang in there.  i LOVE your updates.. cant wait to see what you’ll sew next!! :)

    ps. can you PLS make an etsy shop (someday) so that i can get my hands on some of your incredible creations! ???

  • btw. i just ordered an iphone 4s and it’s arriving tomorrow! :D hope you randomly choose mee!! :D haha <3

  • jenny!!!! HELLO~~! in all honesty, you are truly one of the most amazing moms i know!!! where on earth do you have the time and energy to do what you do and to do it so AWEsomely!!! you are so talented. the lil dresses and drawstring bags looks soooo great! i LOVE my drawstring bag and will always treasure the handmade goodness made by you! :D did you design the invites too?! SO nice. your babies are stinking adorable! loving all the pics. i am dying to get my hands on joy’s pudgy cheeks! 

    monumental meltdowns…. oh do i feel your pain. we’ve had a few and have yet to see the end of it. seeing the brotherly/sisterly love melts my heart. :) would you please send lil tigger trick-or-treating to my neighborhood?!! 
    oooooh ever since i saw that case, i have been swooning over it! hefty price tag for a case, so winning one would be awesome! enter me!! congrats for winning them!

  • hey friend!  Yes, having two is hard the first year but it gets better, I promise.  My advice is just to keep trying which is all you can do.  Evan is going to have to wait, that’s just life for him and he’ll adjust and then all of the hardship and tantrums will be a thing of the past.  Damian is a wonderful big brother now and helps me so much.  My husband has been my very best friend and helps as much as he can with the kids, even when he’s working nights and overtime.  It helps so much that we’re both on the same page.  I’m sure you and your hubby is the same way and Evan will be a great big brother too.  

    Keep up the good work ma!  You’re such a positive, talented, super sweet person – an inspiration to us moms for sure!

  • Oh boy. If *you*, one of the sweetest and most caring supermoms I know, are struggling with parenting… then that doesn’t bode well for me if I ever decide to have kids. I know that young kids throw tantrums and angry fits because they don’t know how to properly communicate yet. But I’m worried that I won’t be patient enough to deal with them in a calm, loving manner that seems to come so easily to all you amazing xanga moms. Yikes…

    Anyway, I’m certain that you’re handling it as best as is humanly possible. Hang in there and hopefully his behavior will improve soon and things will get better!

  • hang in there.  i totally know what you are going through… it’s literally just survival mode right now, but i think as joy sleeps longer and evan gets used to having baby around, you’ll start to feel more sane.  anyway, so glad i got to meet joy!  she is so precious.  i wanna hold her again.  :)   love that iphone case.  it’s my first time seeing it but wow, so cool!

  • Hi Jenny!  Love the blog update!  I am amazed at how you can do all that you do with the kids, take care of Bella, sew and blog~~ You are definitely a supermom!!!  Love your fabric collection!  So organized!!!  Also, when do you find the time to go online and look for all these cool products!  Love the iPhone case!!!  So unique!  Pick me for the giveaway!!!

    I can see that Joy is getting bigger!  Such a beauty, just like her mom, and love the accessories.  Such a fashionista already, just like her mom!!!
    Evan’s tantrum will get better.  We still have a lot of crying and screaming at our house…  I’m hoping it will get better with time.  Hang in there!!!  You are not alone!!!

  • Oh buddy~ just hang in there~ i promise promise promise it will get better. The first 4 months were survival mode for me. It’s funny how I never got any sleep, and never had time for ANYTHING unless it was being online (and that’s because I was a human cow- i could never just SIT there while pumping…) Hope that you have started pumping and things have gotten easier (in being able to go out etc). I use the missoni makeup case you gave me all the time- it stores all of my “fun” eyeshadows. I love the fun black and white contrast so much!! thank you again keke The iphone case is soooo cool! (soo very YOU too)~

  • ps-those dresses~~ SOOO ADORABLE! what can’t you do?????

  • your thoughts & pictures of evan’s tantrums are actually really encouraging/comforting. ezra is only 19 months old, but he is a huge tantrum thrower.  it’s crazy.  he started doing it even before he turned one!  ethan was never like that (and still isn’t), so it’s all so new to me.  i feel like i’m doing something wrong.  but it’s comforting to know that i’m not the only mommy who has to deal with it (and that it’s actually pretty common).

    those dresses are very cute!  i learned how to sew right around when #2 was born, too.  but my skills are not as good as yours!  very impressive.

  • Ok gf, I’m cracking up here because the photos of Evan throwing his tantrums are hilarious!!! Especially the second one where he’s flailing his arms arms out and arched backwards. I know that the tantrum period is so not fun but Evan will get better, especially as he starts to understand more and can verbally communicate better. Looking back, I realise that Nathan resorted to the meltdowns because he was so frustrated and couldnt explain what he wanted to say properly (remember dreadful mammoth??). So hang in there buddy~! It’ll get easier *hugs*

    And I cant believe that you SEW now !! ~ how on earth do you look after 2 kids + 1 furbaby and sew?  you could totally sell those beautiful dresses online. Joy is so lucky to have a mama who makes couture dresses and hairpins for her. Beautiful dresses for a beautiful baby =)

    Btw is that Missoni makeup bag the same one that you used for dinner @ Roys? I was totally admiring it! Cant believe you snagged yourself a few of those during the Target madness. You seriously have the best luck ever!! everrr!!!

  • p.s both evan and eleni have such long legs!!! they’ve grown so much. it’s so nice to see how close they still  are ~

  • you have an amazing collection of fabrics!!! i totally wish i could sew. someday…

    E is looking for like his dad as he gets older and i LOVE Joy’s cheeks. so squeezable!

  • hi darling! joy does not look happy in the picture with the pink ribbon. she’s like ‘umma seriously?’ heehee. your boys are looking fantastic in their matching castro hats! i say there need to be more pictures of you! i miss your face. i guess evan has finally reached his terrible twos huh? you’re doing a great job though! 힘내요 언니! haha

  • yay for the updates!!!!! that meltdown face looks too familiar…E has the same face that i have to deal with here and there. bleh…but like you said thank-goodness to those “magical” moments~ Joy is so cute and one thing i can definitely say about her is that she has your cheeks!! hehehe….soooo stinking adorable!!!!!  she is sooo very lucky to have such a crafty mommy like you who can have all these cool accessories that no one will have! so very lucky!!
    AND seriously how are you just so perfect in everything you do!? those things you made above are so good! can you make me a dress too?? LOL
    things will get better…just hang in there. OH- and i would LOVE the iphone case or the cosmetic bag ;P
    see you soon!!!! xoxo

  • oh and I LOVE the iphone photos of E&E….soooooo cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • your kiddos are sooo cute!

  • Can I leave a comment even though I don’t have a xanga account? I’ve never commented on a blog before :P but I love the iphone case SO much, and the makeup bags are cute too! 

  • ahhh love the update! loving the pics of evan and joy together and evan’s new costume…can i see him wear it on saturday? love all the iPhone pictures and the awesome case…it’s so you =D

  • I can’t believe you saved all that fabric before you even knew how to sew and your first projects came out great! You are so talented and creative! I couldn’t sew if my life depended on it. I think it’s because I’m all thumbs!! haha Btw, how do you find with 2 babies to do anything at all??

    Anyway’s I think you are the only person that hands out giveaways on your site. What a great idea!! Again, you are so creative!

  • ooh and i could use an iphone case! international shipping possible? hahah

    actually can you send me your address? i wanna send you a care package x

  • you have such a great eye, even the iphone photos came out looking amazing!

  • Iphone”s are the best . I can’t imagine what I would do with out mines . Aww the little tigger is so adorable . I love his costume . I wish I could sew . The fabrics look so cool organized that way . I’d really love that iPhone case or eve the make up bag. As for the tantrums boy am I familiarly with them . It takes time but they do get better * hugs .

  • love all your sewing projects! The dresses are super cute. 
    I’ve been trying to get my hands on some Missoni by Target flats but they’re almost impossible to get!!

  • you are my mom idol.  seriously.  you are handling this challenging time with style and grace!  and thanks for posting those tantrum pics of evan to give us both sides of being a mom ;)

  • okay Jenny, your gift bags with the chevron pattern was precisely what I was looking for for emmy’s bithday party!!!I should just order from you, not etsy!! ;)   (You should really consider opening up an etsy shop, I know you’d do well.)  E looks so cute even when he’s tantruming.  I completely agree with what your friend said though.  THe first year after I had Emmy was the hardest one in my life.  It was further compounded by Emmy’s eczema and food allergies.  Even to this day, when I look through baby pictures of T and E together, the stress that i felt back then comes back to me like a huge wave.  There’s nothing as hard as raising children, but nothing as joyful (after God of course.) :)

  • You inspire me as always darling! I really want ot learn how to sew and I hope to pick that hobby up … I guess after baby comes. LOL Your first few projects look amazing!!!!!!!! me hearts your crazy fabric collection – where do you shop for all your cute fabrics?! Love the chevron print and looooooove all the ones for your the invitations. YOU”RE so stinking creative, I really wish you lived near me, so I can learn from you!

    I hope Evan’s tantrums get better. :( Poor thing. I hearts all the photos you’ve taken, they are so cute of the 3 of your babies! Always puts such a smile to my face, even when it’s seeing Evan with his tantrums, it’s cute that you captured it, perfect for his slideshow when he grows up. haha.

    I’d love the iPhone case or the make up bag, SO CUTE!!! thanks for always being so generous!

  • wow you can sew!  it’s one of those things i wish i could do, but don’t think i have the patience to learn~  you are definitely one of the most talented mommies~!!  I also have an appreciation for great design and style so i’d love to receive a cosmetics bag! you kids are so adorable~~  i always enjoy reading your blog! ^^

  • btw i love the invitations so much that you made for sandy’s shower!!! i’m going for that exact same theme for baby room, giraffes, elephants, and whales, Oh my! :)

  • oh and tantrums….i know ALL about monumental tantrums!  when it gets really tough and i’ve reached my limit i just take a moment among the chaos to close my eyes and say a silent prayer (BEGGING for Gods help!). haha~ i’m sure you’re doing fine~  ^^

  • you have a beautiful family! 

  • Your photos (and blog) are absolutely adorable. I love that camera case!

  • so cute!  what program on the iphone give you those effects?

    i agree, having 2 is really really tough…now i understand why people want to space out the kids a bit more…

  • Great pictures! My favorite app is Hipstamatic….makes me feel like I’m using a Lomo camera. I <3 my Iphone~ :)
    What’s the name of your sewing machine? I’m interested in purchasing one since I started sewing stuffed animals by hand. 

  • Hi Jenny - I just want to say, “Hang in there!”  While we don’t actually know each other, I’ve been a silent lurker on and off for a few years (no, I’m not a stalker – just enjoy seeing your updates! :) ).  I just wanted to post because it seems you’re having a tough time, so maybe a few positive words would help a little.  You really have an inspirational and awesome blog.  I’m so impressed that you are able to maintain it despite all the changes going on in your life!  If I ever need a pick me up, I check your site and see if you have any posts.  Even when you’re stressed out, I love how you maintain a positive attitude (as hard as it can be).  It’s made me re-think some things and change my attitude when things are tough!  Bella, Evan, and Joy are all just adorable, and you and Andy seem like the perfect couple!  I also think it’s so great that you can look back and reflect on everything – it inspires me to start a blog as well!  Please keep up the posts (but not if you’re TOOOO sleep deprived – even mommies of two young kids need to sleep, though it seems you don’t need much given all that you have going on on the side ;) ), because I’m sure you’re making an impact on not just my life but those of others as well by setting a great example! :)  Take care! Victoria

  • @chopsuey119 - Thanks again for making my day and sending me the cutest frown pics of the cutest little girl!  no way~ I wish I made that elephant but I got it in Bali.  It is handmade though so I hope I can make one someday too.  =)  

  • @parkster7831 - YES~ Joy would like to meet her Eemo & Des Oppa please!  Btw, I’m giving you a little poke to start blogging again.  =)

  • @nomorepink - Thanks buddy~ but I’m so not on top of things!  I haven’t even started thinking about Evan’s birthday party…eek!  The only thing I know is that it’s going to be SMALL.  I wish I could take credit for the elephant but that was made by someone in a Balinese village, lol!  They do have tutorials for elephants though and I’ve totally been wanting to make one.  Oh my goodness~ I’m blushing at what you said because those are things that I totally think of you and I think you’re so good at everything you touch whether it’s crafts or photography or anything.  =)

  • @justbee - Thanks for understanding buddy!!  Seriously, just to have someone say…I know what you’re going through makes me feel better.  Hope you’re hanging in there!  Although I can’t imagine Charlie ever having a meltdown…when I think of him I see a huge happy smile!  =)

  • aw, poor evan! i know i’m going to be going through the same with ellie. she is such a mommy’s girl! i know she’ll be a huge help, but i know she’s going to have a big adjustment to make as well. glad you’re getting some time to yourself. you’re so lucky to have so much help with your parents and inlaws around. you’ll have to teach me all you learned in your sewing class. i’m totally just learning/teaching myself as i go along…

    the pic with joy with the pink ribbon around her head is hilarious! she looks like she’s going to kick someone’s butt!

  • @korean_angel214 - Thanks sweetie!  Yes~ can’t wait for you to come visit us!  Wish your last trip had panned out.  Hurry up and plan your next one please!  =)

  • @jpjchen - You amaze me buddy!  You’re always out & about doing fun things with both kiddos.  I can tell they’re both growing up to be such great kids.  So happy you have an iPhone now!  I love mine so much~~!  =)

  • @ahappylilhome - Thanks so much!  I couldn’t open an Etsy store~ I’m still a total beginner.  The photo doesn’t show all the little imperfections, lol!

  • @katckatc - Yes~~ can’t believe we live so close and haven’t been able to get together yet!  Let me figure out some dates and I’ll email you guys.  You’re going to love having an iPhone~ can’t believe it took you this long!  I hope you win the case too, hehe.  =)

  • @hudson_umma - Thanks for sharing your perspective and being so encouraging!  If you sewed before it’ll be easy for you to get back into it!  I bought a Groupon for a sewing lesson.  I had to do it that way or else I knew I’d never learn on my own.  Although some stuff I just look up on YouTube to figure out…like how to wind the bobbin~ lol!  You should totally get a sewing machine!!!  I follow all these sewing blogs (even before I could sew!) and they always recommend this one Brother machine.  Here’s the LINK.  The price fluctuates but hopefully it’ll still be at a huge discount when you’re ready to get it.  =)  Of course you can be in the drawing!  I don’t that many people are interested in the case so you might get it~ lol!  =)  

  • @carolc - Lol~ you’re silly buddy~ there is nothing to measure up to!  Btw, you haven’t updated in ages!!!  You don’t even update FB that often!  =P

  • @HSookiC - Thanks so much buddy!  Any compliments from you always mean so much because I totally think the world of you!!!  I made the invites but nothing compared to the stuff you always design.  In fact, I was almost desperate enough to go begging for your help, hehe.  I was soo tired and didn’t think I could make anything good.  Btw~ I don’t think that many people will want the case so there will be a good chance you’ll get it!  =)

  • @ForeverDreaming2 - Thanks!  Wowee~ you sew stuffed animals by hand?!  That’s so awesome!  I love my sewing machine~ here’s the LINK.  I follow all these sewing blogs and they always recommend this one.  =)

  • The first 2 months were absolutely brutal. I think month 2 was the hardest. At 6 months I felt I got the hang of it but I think that is due to the fact that we hired a mary poppins. She has made a huge difference in our lives. I really don’t know how moms can take care of 2+ kids by themselves. it’s so much work!!!

  • i really don’t understand how you are handling two kids, the tantrums, and learning to sew?  and have made so many things already?  i know you’re magical, but did you somehow conjure up extra hours in your day?

  • you are so creative!  I love your blogs!!

  • I love your layout & topics! I found your blog in the new mommies club. Tigger is too cute! I don’t have this blog down yet like yours, hopefully I can sometime. Please don’t be a strange…I don’t know anyone that use Xanga and love to stay in touch with other mothers!

  • All your pictures are fun! and those dresses that you made are soo cute. I have to admit I chuckled at the thought of you grabbing your camera to take a picture of Evan’s tantrums– I can see you saying “wait I got to get this on camera!” Meanwhile your hubs and mom are like ???  haha. Evan is soooo expressive. and I love Joy’s sleeping smile.

  • beautiful pictures!  always look forward to your posts :)  

  • omg love the pictures, I was just wondering about you and how you guys were transitioning. I am glad everything seems to be okay (minus the tantrums) I didn’t get the Missoni in time either, I am however about to get in line for Gwen’s stefani’s mini line for target! I also love the case! makes me want an iphone must find something similar for my Samsung! Also I want to learn how to sew so badly, this is just one more notch on your creative belt. gah I wish we lived closer I would definitely be going to you for tips! 

  • omg jennyyyyy! i just realized this is the only way i can keep up with you! how are you?!!! can we re-connect soon? i miss you soooooooo much!!! and your family has grown since i last saw you… you went from zero to 2! miss you much! and loving your photoblog!!!!

    guess i’ll try to figure how to send a private message on here and give you my number and email. if you dont hear from me… that means i failed and couldnt find how… haha

    love u!!! miss you!!!

  • @WaterfallPhilosophies - Thanks so much for your advice & encouragement!  I love your attitude~ you’re my mommy of two role model.  We still need to plan our little playdate~~ would love to see D & meet M.  =)

  • @spiritedsherry - Thanks for the encouragement buddy!  Motherhood seriously tests the limits of your patience.  I always thought I was a super patient person…until I had two kids.  =P

  • @hongfamilia - Yes~ survival mode!  You make it seem so fun & easy.  When I see you I feel like you’re so content & your family life is so peaceful.  I strive to get to where you are!  =)

  • @Sun-Hee Lee - Thanks buddy!  I feel like you’re one of the few people who really understands!  I was just telling Andy I love talking to you because you’re so honest and we’re totally on the same page.  =)

  • @sooae - You know what?  Even when you were in “survival mode” you made it seem so easy~ you always looked so good and put together.  I couldn’t ever tell that you were toughing it out~ lol!  Miss you so much~~~!  Thank you for always being so encouraging and for inspiring me.  *hug*

  • @jin_gill - Thanks for sharing your experiences buddy!  It really does help to know that other people are experiencing the same thing and that it’s just a normal part of growing up.  *sigh*  I always thought you were so good at sewing~ loved seeing all the projects you used to post.  Hope to see some more!  =)

  • J…you are an amazing person!  You just had a 2nd baby, taking care of 2 kids and a furry one and still have time to learn how to sew?!!!  And you don’t sew easy stuff…you sew dresses!!!  

    That iphone case is sooo cute!  You always find the cutest things.

    Tantrums…where can I start.  Do you have a quiet corner you can send Evan to when he gets worked up?  This worked for Matthew (and still works for him.)  It isn’t a punishment but more an area he can go  and calm down.  Matthew’s quiet corner has a comfy chair and is surrounded by his books.  Megan’s quiet corner is actually our bedroom.  A lot of times their tantrums come from being over-stimulated and sometimes the intensity of their own meltdown scares them and makes them continue to throw their tantrums.   After they have calmed down, I will give them a hug and explain to them what happened.  Yes, we do this to Megan too and it seems to work wonders with her.  She actually will respond in her baby language.  Also sometimes the older child will throw a tantrum because they feel a lack of attention.  This is usually a huge warning sign for me that I need to spend some quality mommy & Matthew time with him.  It isn’t easy having 2 kids but you will figure it out in your own ways!

  • seriously?  why are you like super mom?!?!  you started sewing in the midst of having a newborn?!  you amaze me!  i LOVE that case.  so cool.  i wish i had known about it before i ordered one on amazon!  aish. 

    and crying is heard a lot in our house too.  mainly by max.  at 2 months, i feel like he’s finally getting more manageable and i’m understanding him. but man, was it a rough 2 months.  aren’t girls just the sweetest?  i just want to pinch Joy’s cheeks SOOO bad!

  • ok seriously Jenny, what’s out there that you CAN’T do????  You are so uber talented!  Love all the moments captured. Just awesomeness~

  • Yay for another update!  Oh buddy…seeing those pictures of Evan’s meltdowns make me chuckle (a self-pity chuckle) because it’s the same face that Jacob makes!  This age is full of drama isn’t it?  =P  Either way, Evan and Joy are so lucky to have a mommy like you.  You seriously are sooo talented and wonderful.  I’m sure it’s hard right now but “all things shall pass!”  I love all the stuff you are sewing!!  Please teach me!  I was inspired to make the drawstring bags because of you…..but that’s all I can do.  Hahah.  Did you make that elephant?  Soooo amazing!   Your fabric collection makes me swoon. =)   Love you buddy.  Hwae-ting!!!  Happy Halloween to your family!  Wish I could give Tigger a big hug right now!

  • @k_mommy - Thanks so much my love!  You’re so sweet and always my #1 cheerleader.  Thanks for the encouragement~ I sure need it!  I remember Mammoth!  Maybe because I think Nathan is so cute I didn’t think it was bad~ lol!  I can sew now but not very well…lots of imperfections!  I want to make you something!  Next time you come over and pick the fabric.  It might have to just be another drawstring bag, hehe.  Yes~ it’s the same bag I had at Roys.  I was running out of the house and couldn’t find a purse!  I had no hopes of getting anything at the actual Target stores (since it was right after Joy was born) BUT this super nice customer service person on the phone helped me track them down and shipped them to me for free!  If I had known you would’ve liked it I would’ve totally gotten one for you!!!!  I will enter you in the drawing~ lol!  =D

  • @Stacy Sung - Buddy!  You are so cute!  I feel honored that my blog is the first one you’ve commented on.  I will definitely put your name in the drawing!  I don’t think that many people are interested so I hope you get one!!!

  • @miniminy - Thanks my love!  Can’t wait to see you tomorrow~~~!  Btw, Steve told me he liked the case.  I will consider your comment his entry into the drawing~ lol!  =)

  • @suez_site - Thanks buddy!!  I feel like I never have enough time but sometimes I give up sleep to do the projects I want to work on.  Hope you’re doing great with your two baby bears!  =)

  • @metallic_heels - Thanks for your sweet comment & encouragement!  I’ll enter you in the drawing~!  =)

  • @skippeeahn - thanks mama! nathan likes the missoni makeup bag so put him in the drawing too pls ;) haha.  that photo of evan still cracks me up. i wish i could blow it up and put it on my fridge. evan could throw the worst tantrum and still be adorable!

  • @MissJeter2002 - I totally wanted those flats too!  I really hope you get them.  Please post pics if you do so I can live vicariously through you~ lol!  =)

  • @sandelion23 - Lol~ you are my mom/crafting idol!  I only wish you would update more often, hehe.  =)  Thanks for the encouragement sweet words!  

  • @so_droll80 - Thanks so much buddy!  I can’t wait to see what you come up with for Emmy’s party.  I couldn’t ever open an Etsy store…I don’t think I’d ever feel like my stuff would be worthy!  I’m still a beginner so I see all these imperfections that drive me nuts~ lol!  Thanks so much for sharing your perspective and for the encouragement.  Now seeing how easily and fabulously you’re enjoying motherhood of two makes me happy and gives me lots of hope.  *hug*

  • @JayMonKeee - Thanks buddy!  You are always soo sweet to me~ love you!  Whatever happened to your embroidery thread collection??  I want to see you make stuff with that please!  I buy fabric whenever I travel so if I make something out of it I’ll have memories from the place I visited.  My all-time favorite place online though is http://www.fabric.com.  I’m a total fabric junkie and can spend hours just scrolling through pages and pages of fabrics to find the cutest ones.  Oh!  I also get some from the garment district in downtown.  If you visit LA I’ll take you!  Btw, thanks for your email~~ kept me company during a middle of the night feeding.  Loved the video!!  Will write you back soon!  *hug*

  • I loved this post! I’ve always wanted to sew too~ I shall have to live vicariously through you :) And I agree, the iPhone pics hold a special place in my heart too, my fave is the one with the pink headband lol, her expression cracks me up!

  • love everything in this post!! i can’t wait to see all your sewing project, maybe you can open up an etsy shop.. yea yea??? :) and i had no idea you did different colored pouches for the invitations so it’s nice to see that here!!! joy and evan are sooooooooo cute together, can’t wait til the next time i get to cuddle w/ them… not sure when that will be though! :*(

  • @suggestivetongue - Thanks for your sweet comment!  =)

  • @efficientb2 - I use Instagram.  It’s free and so easy to use!  You’re going to love it!  =)

  • @thepurpletraveler - I can’t tell you enough how much your comment meant to me.  Thank you so much!  You’re so sweet to take the time to write a comment with such encouraging and inspiring words.  It makes me so happy to think that my photos/reflections as simple as they are can have a positive effect on someone.  =)  I’m truly thankful and I’ll never forget your kind words!  They came at the perfect time~ when I really needed a pick-me-up.  I hope you start blogging too!  =) 

  • @iamthekinsiekins - Awww~ I know it’ll be a big adjustment for Ellie!  It’s sort of heartbreaking in a way to see them going through that adjustment of such big emotions of having a new sibling…happiness, jealousy, confusion, etc.  I know Ellie will be an awesome big sis!  Btw, I was totally surprised to hear you say you’re a beginner sewer!!  From the stuff you made I totally thought you’ve been sewing forever.  Just shows how talented & creative you are!  I was going to say that YOU have to teach ME!  Let’s try to do a sewing playdate and make stuff!  =)    

  • @MissBride - Thanks for always being so honest and sharing your experiences!  I love reading your blog because you lay it all out there and it really encourages me knowing that even someone as fabulous as you struggles at times too.  I’m so happy for you that you guys found Mary Poppins!  =)

  • @EliMommy - Thanks for your sweet words!  Yes~ I love staying connecting with other mommies too!  Can’t wait to catch up with your blog!  =)

  • @xceceil - Awww~ thanks so much!  =)

  • @orangemomo01 - Buddy~ I can totally imagine S wearing the Mini Harajuku stuff.  It’s gonna be soo cute on her!  Can’t wait to see some outfit posts.  =)  

  • @joesee22 - Thanks so much for the advice & encouragement!  I’m going to try your method of having the quiet corner.  I need to approach it differently because time outs haven’t been working at all.  Evan thinks it’s a joke and just goofs around.  Instead of making it a punishment I’ll take him to a quiet area so he can calm down.  What you say totally makes sense…about the intensity of their meltdowns scaring them and just exacerbating the situation.

  • @cheendy - Buddy!  I can’t imagine Jacob having a major meltdown.  When I think of him I just see a huge smiling face with those big ol’ eyes.  Wouldn’t it be so fun to have a sewing date?  We could sew something together!  That’s so awesome you made drawstring bags!  That’s about the extent of my sewing knowledge.  No way~ I didn’t make the elephant!  It’s from Bali, hehe.  I did see a tutorial for an elephant that I’ve been wanting to make but it seems hard.  Hope you had an awesome Halloween!  I’m so in love with those J Potter photos!  =)

  • Thanks so much for the comment and the add! I was starting to get bored on this site because I don’t know anyone on Xanga! hehehe Thanks for the comment about my son. He’s everything to me by far the best thing that ever happen to me! <3

    What is your name?

    Iphone photos always come out great!

  • @EliMommy - Jenny!  So sweet what you said about your son~ my kids are the best thing that ever happened to me too.  =)

  • Hi Jenny!  OMG, how do you find time to blog?  And not just any blog, I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a nice blog! :)   All your pictures are beautiful, well Evan and Joy are so cute, they look cute regardless!  Can’t believe you learned to sew, the dresses are stinkin cute and love the iphone case!  Gabby mentioned about your case, but didn’t know what she was talking about until I saw it on your blog!  So fun to look through your blog, will have to set aside some time to browse :D lol

    hope we can have a playdate again soon~

    Miriam 

  • @miriamrhee - Buddy~ thanks so much!  You’re so sweet and your comment totally made me smile.  =)  It would be awesome if you started blogging too~ so you can share K&C’s cuteness with the world!  Yes~ let’s please have another playdate soon!  =)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *