Month: March 2009

  • Week 9

           

    wk 9_2wk 9_1


    Hi there!  I always try to be a positive person but this past week was really horrible.  I need a hug, maybe two.  To take my mind off of things I thought I’d whip up a post. 

     

    WEEK 9

     

    wk 9_4 wk 9_5

     

    Retail Therapy

     

    EBATES

     

    If you guys know me you’ll know how much I love (1) to shop and (2) to get good deals.  So I always use Ebates.  Ebates is a site where you earn a certain % back on purchases you make online if you click through from the Ebates site.  The stores (over 1,000) pay Ebates a commission and you get part of it.  It’s free and super easy.  Whenever you’re shopping online first check Ebates to see if they have that store.    

     

    I started using Ebates about a year and a half ago and I’ve gotten $453.59 back!

     

    Here are some of my faves:

     

    Sephora (8%), Nordstrom (3%), eBay (3%), Target (4%), Macy’s (6%), 1-800-Flowers (8%), Gap (2%), VistaPrint (6%), ValueMags (26%), Bloomingdale’s (2%), Kodak Gallery (10%), Snapfish (10%), Shutterfly (10%), Shopbop (6%), drugstore.com (6%)

     

    If you use the link below and make a purchase through Ebates then you’ll get $5 and I’ll get $5.  Yay! 

     

    [Click Me!]

     

    VISION DIRECT

     

    This is sort of boring but since so many people wear contacts I wanted to share.  Check out Vision Direct (partners with drugstore.com).  You get 15% off of your first order and free shipping. 

     

    Proclear 1 Day 90 Pack

     

    My optometrist:  $75 >> plus tax >> $81.38

     

    Vision Direct:  $69.99 >> on sale for $58.95 >> less 15% >> 7% cash back from Ebates >> no tax >> $46.60

     

    I paid $372.80 for one year’s supply of contacts when I would’ve had to pay $651.04 through my optometrist.  I saved almost 43%!  It was an even better deal for Andy’s contacts because Acuvue has a $30 rebate. 

     

    Bonuses:  You can apply this purchase towards your Flex Spending Account.  Also, you get 5% in drugstore.com dollars.  So now I have $18.64 to spend at drugstore.com! 


    DRUGSTORE.COM

     

    I always shop at drugstore.com.  It’s easy to get free shipping.  The first time it’s free on any order over $25 then it’s free on any order over $49.  You always get 5% back in drugstore.com dollars.  Plus, it is 6% back from Ebates! 

     

    In doing a lot of comparison shopping for random household items I’ve generally found that drugstore.com has really good prices and a huge selection.  I love that they have a “green & natural” section so I buy baby stuff from there.  Make sure to check out the special offers they have!  Right now you get a free baby organizer for buying any 2 California Baby products and you get a free sunscreen for spending $25 on Burt’s Bees.   

    THE CHILDREN’S PLACE

     

    This is totally random.  The Children’s Place usually charges $5 for shipping but if you call one of their stores they’ll give you a free shipping code.  I’ve done it a few times already.  You also get 3% back from Ebates!

     

    wk 9_3 wk 9_6   


    Flip Mino HD Review

     

    The Flip Mino HD is such a popular mommy product!  I kept hearing rave reviews from moms so I was so happy when I got it.  If you buy it from Amazon right now you get a $20 Shutterfly coupon.

    I love the Flip!  The best video camera is the one that’s with you.  I feel like I’ve been capturing so many more moments on video now.  Even with any flaws it has I think the most important thing is that it actually gets me recording stuff.  I was able to record a video of Evan’s first super-long-holding-head-up moment and share it with my family.  It’s really awesome how I can so easily take a video, upload it and e-mail it so that within minutes even my grandparents in Korea can watch it. 




    You have to actually click on the “HD is off” button to watch the HD version on the Vimeo site.  By the way, Vimeo is awesome.  The quality is a lot better than YouTube! 

     

    The Good:

     

    - Size — The Flip is sooo small and light.  It’s smaller and lighter than my iPhone!

    - Simple — It’s just one piece.  No extra chargers, USB cords, memory cards, etc. to worry about.

    - Easy — I never use our fancy video camera so I always end up using my point & shoot.  The p&s video quality isn’t good and I’m always fumbling around trying to switch from camera to video mode.  It’s so easy to have the Flip in your pocket/purse and just whip it out and start shooting. 

    - User-friendly — The Flip is so user-friendly.  There’s just one big red button that records and a few other buttons.  When you’re ready to download and/or charge you just plug it directly into your computer. 

    - Quality — The HD quality is so sharp!   

    - Software — The software is really easy to use.  It lets you share videos by sending a web link, capture still shots, edit, add music, upload to different websites, burn to DVD/CD, etc.

     

    The Bad:

     

    - Screen — I feel like the screen is a bit small and too wide.  I’ve gotten used to it though. 

    - Sensitivity — Since the video quality is so high your eyes are more likely to notice shakiness.  I need to practice being steadier when recording.   

    - Size — Since it’s so small and light it could be easy to misplace.  Andy got me the Flip and within 2 days I lost it!!  I was so sad but that night Andy told me that I shouldn’t feel bad about losing it…we’re so blessed with a wonderful family and at least we have each other…we’ll just get another one.  That made me feel so much better!  Luckily my friend found it at her house though.  Whew!

    Money Money?

    wk 9_8


    Check out this site and determine whether you have any unclaimed property.  The California State Controller’s Office has this site where you can search for unclaimed property that has already been sent to the State for safekeeping.  State law requires businesses to send to the State any property that has remained in their possession without any activity on the part of the owner.  If you’re not in California, check out your State Controller’s Office site. 

     

    I found $50 that Cingular owes me!  I also found $150 for my friend.  Let me know if you find $!

     

    [Click Me!]

     

    wk 9_7

     

  • Week 8


    wk 8_1

     

    Hey buddies!  I’ve already fallen behind…eek.  The past few weeks have been super busy and I got sick!  Being sick + taking care of a baby + no help is tough. 

     

    WEEK 8

    wk 8_2

     wk 8_3

     

    2 Month Check-up


    Weight:  13 lbs 4 oz (85th percentile)

    Height:  23.5 inches (73rd percentile)


    wk 8_11
      wk 8_9    

     

    Evan got his 2 month vaccinations.  He was not a happy camper.  I wish they could’ve stuck me with the needles instead!

    wk 8_10

    Milestones

    Evan now sings/coos/smiles at us and we have “conversations”; he discovered his hands and now sticks his hands in his mouth; he follows us with his eyes; he sticks his tongue out; he can lift his head for a pretty long time.  I would’ve never imagined that something like seeing Evan stick his hand in his mouth and soothe himself for the first time would put me in such a good mood the whole day.  So funny how even the smallest milestone/change is just so amazing to us. 

     

    wk 8_4  wk 8_5

     

    On Our Own

     

    This was the first week we were on our own.  We had a live-in doula since Evan was born.  We called her Eemo.  It was so sad saying bye to her.  I get attached to people so easily.  As we drove her home I saw tears in her eyes and she was holding Evan’s hand the whole time.  Some people come into our lives for just a brief time but leave an everlasting imprint.  Eemo was there for us during the most important time of our lives.  Those early days…being overwhelmed with the responsibility of a new life, the sleepless nights, the constant around the clock feedings, the troubles with breastfeeding, Evan’s jaundice…Eemo was right there with us helping us through it all.  Wow, we’ve come a long way. 

     

    I’m really going to miss Eemo.  I feel sad knowing that Evan will now be missing a big chunk of love and attention in his life.  Eemo was so good with him – always patient, always loving.  She would hold him in her arms and walk back and forth for what seemed like hours…comforting him, talking to him, stroking his hair.  Eemo would always call him “wangjaneem” (prince) and say he was a living doll.  He would stretch his legs and arms for her while making his little critter noises and smiling like crazy.  She would always say Evan’s eyes sparkle when he’s awake, how he’s such a big boy, how strong his neck and legs are.  Sometimes the two of us would just stand there looking at Evan while laughing and smiling and talking about how cute he is. 

     

    wk 8_6


    Eemo did soo much for us.  She took care of Evan, cooked, cleaned, walked Bella, gave massages, organized my closet, taught me how to cook, gave facials, helped with breastfeeding, etc.  Some days she’d be up as early as 5:00am and stay up until way past midnight.  It felt like we were living in a 5 star hotel with around the clock room service.  Breakfast was brought to our room every morning and the typical array would be pancakes, bacon, eggs, oatmeal, milk, OJ, miyuk gook and fruit cut in pretty shapes.  Our bathroom and room would be cleaned every morning.  We were so lucky!

     

    I wish I had been better to Eemo while she was here.  I wish I listened to her more, talked with her more and just appreciated her more.  Lesson learned – cherish the people in my life now because sometimes people pass quickly in and out of our lives and who knows if I’ll have another opportunity to be better.  Eemo, I’ll miss you.  I’ll never forget you.  Thank you for everything you’ve done for us. 

     

    wk 8_7 wk 8_8

     

    Questions

     

    I’m in the process of making a few purchases and before I finalized I was hoping for some input.  Does anyone have the Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3K digital point & shoot camera?  Thoughts? 

     

    How about the Epson R1900 Large Format Photo Printer?  I’m looking for a high quality photo printer (no all-in-ones) to print photos and graphics.  Any suggestions?  Thanks!  I promise to review them later.    

     

    Mom*Tog

     

    I found an awesome blog created by Drew Bittel who happens to be an amazing photographer and mom.  She is the genius behind the Mom*tog blog – a site for moms who love photography.  That’s meeee!  Drew posts tips/tricks for taking photos of your baby, interviews with baby photographers, q&a’s, mom stuff, etc.  I love it!

     

    Coming Up…

     

    There are so many things I want to share.  Hopefully I can find time soon so I can post a review of my new Flip Mino HD, some great deals I found, art projects, etc.  Until then…have a fabulous week!

     

    wk 8_12



  • Weeks 6-7


    wks 6-7_1


    WEEK 6

     

    wks 6-7_2

    WEEK 7

     

     wks 6-7_3 wks 6-7_4

     

    Special Etsy Deal

     

    I love Etsy!  I love how you can find such unique and creative things.  I recently ordered a receiving blanket, diapers to go bag and snuggle blankee from this awesome seller [Maria's Favorites].  Maria is so nice~ she even sent me a bib as a gift. 

     

    The diapers to go bag is so convenient to just throw in my regular tote or diaper bag and have everything I need in one place. 

     

    wks 6-7_6


    The snuggle blankee is perfect to cover Evan in the stroller/at home for now and later he can use it as a security blanket.
     

    wks 6-7_5


    Anyways, I love sharing great finds so I asked Maria if she could offer a special discount for my friends.  She said yes!  All of the diapers to go bags [orig. price $11.99] and snuggle blankees [orig. price $9.99] will be $7.99 for the month of March!  Just mention “skippee” in the “message to seller” when you check out.  Wait until you get a revised invoice from PayPal before you pay.  Click here for Maria’s Etsy shop!   

     

    I think these things would make a great baby shower gift [maybe in addition to something from the registry].  That’s what I plan on doing!  Maria also takes custom requests so just let her know if there’s something else she could make for you!  The items I bought were from Alexander Henry’s 2D Zoo collection.  I love this print!

     

    wks 6-7_7


    Photo Editing

     

    I got a bunch of questions regarding photo editing so I wanted to share with the rest of you too!  I have Photoshop CS3 and Photoshop Elements but it always takes me forever to edit anything…probably because I’m not very good at it!  Instead, I use Picnik.  There are tons of special effects and editing tools that are really easy to use.  You can edit your photos from so many different sources [your computer, facebook, Picasa, flickr].  Enjoy and show me some of your masterpieces…hehe!    

     

    Here are a few samples:

     

    wks 6-7_9

     

    wks 6-7_8

      

    You’re Gonna Miss This

     

    You know the feeling…you can’t wait for the next step in your life.  That was me.  I couldn’t wait to go to college, finish college, go to law school, finish law school, pass the bar, get a good job, get engaged, get married, have a baby, etc.  I just couldn’t wait.  I think it’s just human nature to look ahead and want to attain more.

     

    wks 6-7_10


    It’s great to look forward to the future and aspire for certain goals…but I think it’s also important to enjoy the moment you’re in.  I feel that more than ever now with Evan.  Although I’m excited for the day he starts sleeping longer, talking, walking, etc., I truly want to cherish this moment in time.  I know I’m going to miss it.  I’ll miss the quiet moments we have together when I’m feeding him in the middle of the night and he’s snuggled in my arms looking up at me.  I’ll miss kissing his tiny fingers and toes.  I’ll miss the fact that we are the center of his world.  I’ll even miss breastfeeding because it’s this special bond that we have together.   

     

    The lyrics to the song You’re Gonna Miss This by Trace Adkins are so nice and true…

     

    “You’re going to miss this

    You’re going to want this back

    You’re going to wish these days

    Hadn’t gone by so fast

    These are some good times

    So take a good look around

    You may not know it now

    But you’re going to miss this…”

     

    So, no matter what stage of life you’re in right now…I hope you’re able to take the time to enjoy and appreciate the moment you’re in.

    wks 6-7_11