Month: April 2010

  • Maui Wowee 2010!

    maui_2010_105

    Hi buddies!!  So I finally gave in and joined Facebook!!  I’m still getting the hang of it but I now see why so many people have abandoned blogging for the oh-so-easy-Facebook-world.  I still love documenting my memories on my blog too though.  Thank you all for your comments about Evan’s party!  I couldn’t have done it without my loving family & friends and our awesome vendors.

     

    This month has been rough.  Andy had to travel for work every single week and my mom has been in Korea so I’ve been on my own most of the time.  At the end of the day I usually have no energy to do anything but read e-mails/Facebook updates on my phone and pass out.  I just wanted to thank those of you who helped make the time a bit easier with your sweet comments/e-mails/texts/phone calls.  Even the smallest of “oh, I know how you feel” or “hang in there” messages really lifted my spirits.  As I type this I’m still alone but thankfully my mom will be back Sunday!  I hope you’ve all been having a fabulous April.  Happy Spring!

     

    maui_2010_117

     

     

    Now get ready for some photo overload! 

     

    Maui Wowee 2010

     

    maui_2010_106

     

     

    Seeing that we were just in Maui (9 months ago) we didn’t think we’d be going back so soon.  Andy’s childhood friend was getting married though so of course we wanted to be there.

     

    The first morning we were there we woke up to an island wide alarm warning us of a tsunami!  The whole island was basically at a standstill as they prepared for the worst.

     

    maui_2010_108

     

     

    Luckily the “tsunami” didn’t amount to much…just some really strong winds.  It was so windy Evan got knocked down by the wind!

     

    maui_2010_109

     

     

    I even felt like I would be blown away at times, hehe.

     

    maui_2010_110

     

     

    Favorite Moments

     

    maui_2010_111

     

     

    * Hanging out at Baby Beach where the water was super clear and shallow.

     maui_2010_101 

    maui_2010_139

     

    * We stayed at the Four Seasons last year and loved it but wanted to try a different part of the island so we stayed at the Ritz.  The service was so awesome!!  One of the staff members even brought us her own baby’s toys to play with while we were there.

     

    maui_2010_107

     

     

    We loved our room because it was actually two separate rooms (including a kitchen/dining area) which was really helpful so Evan had his own place to sleep.  It was nice just having a lot of space to hang out in.  Plus, the patio opened out onto a huge grassy field with a hammock!

     

    maui_2010_112 

    maui_2010_113

     

     

    * Getting to sleep in every morning while Andy & Evan went on walks.

     

    maui_2010_115

     

     

    Evan woke up super early because we were on LA time so they had the whole property to themselves.

     

    maui_2010_116

     

     

    * Getting to go on date nights thanks to our wonderful nanny.  Evan loved her and was so happy hanging out with her.  She was from an agency that was highly recommended by the Ritz.  Please let me know if you ever need a nanny referral in Maui!  I don’t have any photos of them so here are random Evan photos instead, hehe.

     

    maui_2010_132

     

     

    * I love how Evan is so friendly sometimes!  Now that he’s walking he goes up to random people and it seems like he’s trying to make conversation with them.

     

    maui_2010_102

     

     

    * Kai & Alison’s wedding was so filled with love and beauty.  I’m so happy we got to be a part of it.


    maui_2010_118

    maui_2010_119

    maui_2010_104

     

     

    * Going on a private whale watching cruise and seeing whales super close up!

     maui_2010_120 

    maui_2010_121

     

     

    * Spending lazy afternoons at the pool.

     maui_2010_122

    maui_2010_123

     

     

    * Evan’s first shave ice experience.

     

    maui_2010_124

     

     

    * Watching Evan bond with his daddy.

         maui_2010_127


    maui_2010_126

    * Shopping with my personal shopper.

     

    maui_2010_140

     

    * Spending quality time with my two loves.

    maui_2010_129 

    maui_2010_128

     

    * Here are a few more of my favorite photos…

     maui_2010_136 

    maui_2010_130

     maui_2010_131 

    maui_2010_114

     

    Traveling With a Toddler

     maui_2010_141 

    maui_2010_137

     

     

    The last time we went to Maui Evan was only a few months old so it was a very different trip.  This time he was walking and so much more curious about everything!  The flight there was so easy we started even planning international trips for the three of us (fools!), hehe.  Evan napped for 2 hours and was in a great mood the whole time.

     

    maui_2010_133

     

     

    However…on the way back he skipped a nap so he was restless most of the flight.  Goldie Hawn was sitting right in front of us and I felt so bad Evan was doing a lot of complaining, hehe.  Thankfully she was nice!

     

    maui_2010_135

     

     

    Vacations are great but traveling with a toddler is hard work at times!  We were happy to be back home.

     

    maui_2010_134

     

     

    Here are a few random items that were really helpful on our trip:

     

      02392319901

     

    * Disposable Stick-on Placemats – We used these everywhere~!  There are so many times Evan’s food falls on the table and he just picks it up and eats it again.  I feel better with the placemat there, hehe.  He’s always reaching under the table too (gum alert!) so I make sure to stick this on partially under the table too.

     

    maui_2010_138

     


    * Gate Check Bag – It kept our stroller clean and free from any nicks and scratches!

     

    * Organic Milk in a Box – We haven’t found whole milk in a box yet so these Earth’s Best ones are the next best thing.  They don’t have to be refrigerated so it’s easy to take along anywhere.  You can find them at Target in the baby food aisle.

     

    * Hand Sanitizer – The Cleanwell sanitizers are by far the best ones I’ve ever used.  I have one of these with me at all times.  I love how they’re all-natural and alcohol-free so you don’t have to feel yucky about rubbing the alcohol ones in your hands and then feeding/touching your baby.  I don’t like the Purell-types because Purell’s active ingredient is 65% ethyl alcohol!  Cleanwells are great too because they never leak~ unlike other ones I’ve used in the past (Purell, Burt’s Bees).

     

    Any other must-have items or tips for traveling with a baby or toddler?  I know there are so many moms out there who are super travelers.  Please share your wealth of knowledge!