April 2, 2007

  • Wedding Organizing

    Hi~!  First of all, thanks soo much for all your super sweet comments/messages/e-mails!  I’m so happy I get to share all these wedding details with you.  Finally~ my wedding folders got some love…hehehehe!  Anyways, so I’ve been trying to respond to everyone’s questions and realized that many of them were the same.  I thought I’d share info on the most commonly asked about items in case anyone else is interested.    Oh~ and to my subscribers who don’t give a hoot about wedding stuff…sorry~!

    THE FOLDERS
    wedding folders 1

    I started off early on by subscribing to and buying  every single wedding I could get my hands on!  Martha Stewart, InStyle, Real Weddings, Los Angeles Weddings, Grace Ormonde, Brides, Bridal Guide, Modern Bride, etc.  Then I just started tearing out ideas and saving photos from the web - anything that sparked my interest.  This helped me sort out just the articles and photos I really liked minus the 10,000 ads.  I got a bunch of 3 ring binders and a ton of page protectors. 

    wedding folders 2 

    Categories:
    - Wedding Advice I (general advice)
    - Wedding Advice II (health, budget, marriage)
    - Wedding Attire (wedding gown, tux, bridesmaids, momma bear)
    - Extras (accessories, makeup, hair)
    - Reception I (general, favors, invites, music)
    - Reception II (color schemes, cake, flowers, attendant gifts, websites, DJ/bank, misc.)
    - Photography (picture poses/must takes, photography, videography)
    - Honeymoon (articles, destinations)
    - Checklists & Registries

    wedding folders 3wedding folders 4
    wedding folders 5wedding folders 6

    THE SKETCHBOOK
    decor - cover

    When I started my vendor visits I realized that I needed to put all my ideas into one place.  I met my buddy Katherine one day and she had the neatest sketchbook filled with ideas.  The very next day I went over to the art store and got myself a sketchbook.  I filled the book with ribbon samples, decor photos, inspiration photos, “don’ts”, bridesmaid dress ideas, a photo of my gown, weddings I liked, and cool ideas.  The vendors loved it because they got to see exactly what I was looking for and what I wasn’t.  You don’t need to have an exact idea of what you want…just show them photos you love, things that inspire you, anything!  I think it’s also important to show them exactly what you don’t want.  I even included a photo of these random pillows I saw at Target…the colors were so pretty (pink & brown) that it inspired me to choose that color combo.  This stage of wedding organizing really helped me define and determine the theme and vision I had for the wedding.  Try it~ it really does help to get all your favorite ideas in one place. 

    decor - p1decor - p6
    decor - p3decor - p4
    decor - p5decor - p7

    HAIR & MAKEUP FOLDER
    hair&makeup folder

    After a bad hair & makeup trial I realized I needed to be able to really show a hair & makeup person what I was looking for.

    Pages:
    (1)  Recent photos of me
    (2-3)  Photos I like from the past few years
    (4-7)  My gown (with various photos of different veils & sashes)
    (8-9)  Gorgeous people
    (10-11)  Wedding hair & makeup
    (12)  Wedding hair – other hair ideas
    (13)  Wedding hair – bangs
    (14-15)  Hair Don’ts
    (16)  Make-up Don’ts
    (17-18)  Me as a “don’t” – professional hair & makeup before & after (these photos were from my bad trial)
    (19-20)  Engagement hair
    (21-22)  Engagement hair – bangs
    (23-25)  Hair & makeup trial
    (26)  Photos comparing different trials
     
    Slide11
    Slide10
    Slide13

    MAGAZINES & BOOKS!

    I went through countless magazines trying to pull out the ideas I liked best.  After my wedding I ended up giving a few boxes worth of magazines to my friend.  I’ve been getting tons of new ones these days.  I felt too bad throwing out these brand new mags (~15) and thought maybe it would be helpful to someone.  They’re all very recent editions (Bridal Guide, Modern Bride, Brides).  I have tons of Martha Stewarts, InStyles & Real Weddings left but I still want to look through those!  Maybe one day I’ll be able to part with them.  Anyways, I also have a couple useful books - Complete Guide to Weddings in the Real World, On Site Weddings (guide to So Cal vendors) and Here Comes the Guide (So Cal).  

    wedding mags
    wedding books
    First person to comment gets them if – they can pick them up in West LA/Century City (preferably before the weekend).  We’re having lots of guests over starting Thursday so I’d love to pass these along.  If no one wants them then I’ll just donate them! 

Comments (20)

  • w o w !  i wish i was just 1/100 as organized as you!

  • wow i’m truly impressed by your organizational skills!!!! very inpsiring!  if you need to get those magazines and books off your hands let me know because i just got engaged (woohhoo)  and any help would be great!  just let me know how i should get them.  my email is crazee325@yahoo.com. i hope i’m not too late *crossing fingers*

  • Wow.  You should do this professionally! Seriously!

  • omg! you are so organized! everything you touch looks so professional..nevermind gorgeous!

  • man… you are incredible!  i’m so bad with this stuff… i collected ideas and stuff for awhile, but once i knew i wasn’t going to use it anymore, i ended up tossing it so that i could “streamline” the process and not get confused with what i really wanted.  but seriously… your wedding planning binders are awesome!  i suck at planning :T

  • you are my hero….. =]

  • you’re so organized!  i would pick them up from you but too far… 

  • Thanks so much for sharing!!  I like the sketchbook idea… perhaps I’ll pick up book for my friend! :)  

  • the 2nd girl in “wedding hair-other ideas” is so damn sexy.  i want to be her.  

  • omg i love everything you’ve collected and how neatly it’s all organized. very nice!! =)

  • omg if they’re still available – i’d love to have them!  i’ve been engaged since Dec ’06 and I haven’t accomplished anything. I don’t know where to start…

  • haha, i’ve done something a little similar, tho not quite so thorough as you’ve done. I have one large binder with sections for different things and page protectors as well as a few notebooks and a couple other organizational tools. (I’m still early in planning tho. We haven’t even set a date yet.) And I have some of the same pages saved as the ones in your photos. :)

  • You’re amazing… there is NO way I would be able to do this!

  • you are soooo cute!!! AND ORGANIZED!!! i’m in shock at how organized you were!! too cute you are!! ryc, yea, i’m so so sad i can’t show pix. i’ll try something. i’m uploading onto facebook. we’ll see…maybe i can show it later. yea i’m so sad you’ll be in hk and i can’t go!!! have a great time and take lots of pix, ok??? heheh xoxoox

  • that’s so amazing! could you help me when im get married one day? haha :) in fact, could you help me organize my life!!! j/k

  • wow, i wish i could be THAT organized!!! congratulations!!!

  • I happened to come across your page and I’m soo impressed.  Your wedding pictures are beautiful and Wow….. you are SOO organized! I love all of your binders and sketchbook! Thanks so much for sharing your wedding details. :)

  • im beside myself – i feel like i know you from seeing all this!!!! while i was nowhere near as thorough as you when planning my wedding, may i ask you something… do you have a thing for office supplies? b/c I do… I have this quiet, torrid love affair with Staples and greatly enjoy organizing, color coding, making lists, making chaos nice and neat — I especially love pulling tears, trimming the edges and using my sheet protectors. I do the same exact thing when planning my wardrobe/seasons ahead….. now i feel like i’m writing a personal ad.. lol “if this sounds like something you enjoy please drop me a line!”

  • are they gone yet??? :) thank you so much for the tips. if i get married im going to come back here for tips :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *