Month: July 2007

  • Safari


    “I believe there is no sickness of the heart too great it cannot be cured by a dose of Africa.  Families must go there to learn why they belong together on this earth, adolescents to discover humility, lovers to plumb old but untried wells of passion, honeymooners to seal marriages with a shared sense of bafflement, those shopworn with life to find a tonic for futility, the aged to recognize a symmetry to twilight.”

     

    John Hemingway, African Journeys


    south africa map 1 south africa map 2

    It has always been a dream of mine to go on a safari in South Africa.  We had planned on going this year but we got lazy after getting back from Asia.  We almost pushed it off for another year until I saw my Xanga bud’s amazing South Africa photos.  That gave me the nudge I needed to get crackin’ and plan!  Thanks J.!!  I can’t thank you enough for inspiring us! 

    The Singita Game Reserve received some notable distinctions in Travel & Leisure’s 2007 World’s Best Awards - #1 in Top 25 Hotels in Africa and the Middle East, #2 in Top 100 Hotels Overall and #2 in Top 15 Small Hotels.

     

    Singita Boulders Lodge

    singita - boulders 8 singita - boulders 3
    singita - boulders 1 singita - boulders 4

    Singita Lebombo Lodge

    singita - lebombo 6 singita - lebombo 5
    singita - lebombo 3 singita - lebombo 2

    Our travel agent (Classic Africa) is awesome!  He’s actually a South African Rhodes Scholar, veterinarian and Oxford PhD.  Wow!    He helped us plan our whole trip and even made us our own personal website.

     

    One really helpful site has been the Fodor’s message boards.  The people on there are so knowledgeable and helpful.  You should check this site out if you want to get more info on any future trips!

     

    Books I want to read before the trip:

    The Safari Companion: A Guide to Watching African Mammals

    Chris and Tilde Stuart’s Field Guide to the Mammals of Southern Africa

    Journey Through South Africa

    A History of South Africa (2001)

    Long Walk to Freedom: The Autobiography of Nelson Mandela

    South Africa Photo Safari Companion

    Dead Men Don’t Leave Tips: Adventures X Africa

    A Traveller’s History of South Africa (2003)

    South Africa - Culture Smart!: A quick guide to customs and etiquette

    Frommer’s South Africa (2005)

    Field Guide to The Mammals of the Kruger National Park

     

    So…whenever I have a free minute I’m sitting here daydreaming of South Africa…of cheetahs, lions, elephants…

     

    lion cub leopard 2 
    rhinos 1 zebras 4 giraffes 2 lions 2
    cheetahs 2


  • Farewell Public Xanga


    *Edit*


    Thanks so much buddies!  I was feeling pretty crummy yesterday but now I feel so much better after reading your comments/messages.  I was sorta scared though while I was reading…thinking someone else might say stuff.  Silly, huh?  This all got me to thinking about how much I’ve really come to love my Xanga buddies…and how much I truly appreciate you all.

    I think about you a lot. 

    I ordered some Juicy frames and thought…this buddy likes Juicy too and it would be so cute for her new baby-to-be.

    I got these really cute pink puppy beds and thought…this would be great for my buddies with little girl dogs…this buddy’s birthday puppy, Yuki, Coco, Lola, Zoe, Belle, etc.

    I think about my Xanga mommies…how adorable their kids are…how I’m inspired and learning so much from their amazing parenting.

    I think about my single Xanga buddies…it’s so fun reading about your escapades – finding love, traveling to faraway places, partying it up.

    I think about my Xanga brides…I love seeing your weddings come together, hearing about your honeymoons and newlywed lives.  We’re all at the same stage of our lives~ just married and not ready for the preggers boat yet.

    To all my dog-loving, photography junkie, craft making, bargain hunting, travel-loving and just generally awesome buddies out there…I’m so thankful to have found you~!  Anyways~ check your protected posts!  And let me know if I missed ya somehow…I was sleepy & trying to put the list together.   

    ————————–

    I know there are mean people out there but I was pretty shocked at a comment someone wrote on one of my posts today.    Sheesh!  I don’t think I did anything wrong…I just wanted share my travel photos with friends.  This person wrote an essay on how awful I am…that I’m just a “stupid clueless tourist”…that I feel that I’m “entitled to such opulence”…basically that I’m evil for staying at nice places and traveling to interesting locations.  *sigh*    If you’re so offended by my travel posts then just don’t look at my photos and please don’t say mean things. 

    So…I’m going to make most of my posts protected now.  I never wanted to do this because I love meeting new people and sharing things.  I’ve met so many amazing people already and I don’t think our paths would’ve crossed if my posts weren’t public.  I’ll miss all my would-be buddies out there…and I’ll miss being able to share with my friends who don’t have Xanga.

    Let me know if you want me to add you to protected~ where we’ll be safe from mean and bitter people. 

  • Strut Your Mutt

    SYM2006

    We recently went on a charity walk called “Strut your Mutt” with Bella to raise money for homeless dogs.

    w_IMG_8599

    I walked for 2 miles in flip flops! 

    w_IMG_8486

    So did Andy…hehehe!

    w_IMG_8468

    After the walk there were tons of homeless dogs up for adoption.  There…we found a little homeless dog who captured our hearts.

    Introducing……………..Gracie!
    w_IMG_8548

    This poor girl lived in a cage most of her life…had been abused, had an eye infection, kennel cough, fur so matted it was ripping up her skin, and had just been crapped on by her cellmate….yet she had such a sweet and gentle spirit.  We fell in love. 

    BEFORE….w_IMG_8568
    AFTER…….w_IMG_8845

    Bella:  “Don’t worry Gracie…I’ll always protect you.”
    w_IMG_8739

    The Giant and The Little One.
    w_IMG_0554
    w_IMG_9455w_IMG_8958

    It looks like they’re friends, huh?  They’ve been fighting like crazy though.  I have hope that it’ll pass and they’ll really love each other one day. 

  • Range Rovers + Shoes

               

    RANGE ROVER EVENT!

    range rover event 1 

    Last weekend we were invited to a Range Rover event where we got to go offroading.

    w_IMG_0563

    Part of the event was held in the hills of Malibu at the house where the next Bachelor is going to be filmed!
    villa de la vina 1
    w_IMG_9076w_IMG_9082
    w_IMG_9091w_IMG_9080

    On the way to the offroading course our driver got scared by my driving.  I didn’t realize I was driving in between two lanes…until he nervously asked me to go into one lane.  Hehehehe! 

    w_IMG_0576w_IMG_0575

    w_IMG_9067w_IMG_9068  

    At first I was scared because the hills were so steep and the turns were crazy but I got used to it.  It was such an awesome experience!  It was even better since we didn’t have to use our own Rover.   

    w_IMG_9096

    Our buddies, Alex & Alison, were there to share in the fun.  We even got framed photo boxes!

    w_IMG_0582w_IMG_0592

    SHOES!

    I say…get yourself to the nearest Bloomie’s or Macy’s!  They’re having huge sales on shoes (and lots of other things).  I got 7 pairs for less than the price of a pair of Manolos. 

    w_IMG_9227

     via spiga elianto 2   Via Spiga “Elianto”

    max studio marais red Max Studio “Marais”
       max studio marais blk      Max Studio “Marais”
      bcbg paddy   BCBGirls “Paddy”

       kate spade libby   Kate Spade “Libby”


      max studio doll up         Max Studio “Doll Up”


     bcbg barbera wedge   BCBGirls “Barbera Wedge”



    I finally found some shoes to go with these 2 purses I have that are hard to match.  Anyways~ hope you find great deals too!


    w_IMG_9267

     

    w_IMG_9271