February 20, 2009

  • Weeks 4-5


    wks 4-6_1

     

    Are you surprised I’m back so soon??  I am!  I’m going to try really hard to not fall behind in posting as I have so often in the past.  Thanks so much for all of your support and encouragement~ it helps!

     

    WEEK 4

     

    wks 4-6_3  wks 4-6_2


    1 Month Check-up

     

    wks 4-6_10


    Weight:  10 lbs 5 oz

    Length:  22-1/2 inches

     

    Our pediatrician has been awesome so far.  He’s featured on this website called Video Jug (sort of like a video encyclopedia) as a pediatric expert.  It’s really helpful for us to see his viewpoint on issues and just get general info (i.e., newborn hospital procedures, vaccinations).  Here’s the link if you want basic baby info in video form!  For the non-mamas, there are lots of how to videos like “how to replace a blown fuse,” “how to choose a digital SLR camera,” etc.   

     

    wks 4-6_6  wks 4-6_7


    WEEK 5

     

    wks 4-6_5


    Bellatine’s Day

     

    wks 4-6_4


    We wanted to give Bella a special present for Valentine’s Day so we took her out for some alone time.  Bella got to be a Beverly Hills doggy for an afternoon shopping on Rodeo Drive…hehe!  She got tons of attention and we were thrilled to see a perk in her step and that big fluffy tail wagging like crazy. 

     

    wks 4-6_11

     

    One of our neighbors called us to ask about what it’s like to have a dog because her daughter really wants one.  She asked if her daughter could borrow Bella for an hour each day so she could learn how to be responsible for having a dog before they got one.  Wow, what great timing.  When Bella needed a friend the most…one showed up in the form of a shy little 12-year-old girl. 

     

    A Mother’s Love

     

    I read an article from The Pump Station that really touched me.  The author (Jessica Sacher) talks about how she lost her mother 20 years ago and not a day passes that she doesn’t think of her.  Here is an excerpt:

     

    “For those of you who are still lucky enough to have your mother, relish the time with her.  Don’t wish that she would go away and stop nagging you.  Overlook her faults, criticisms, and human frailties.  So what if she doesn’t fold the towels the way you do, or load the dishwasher the way you do?  So what if you can’t find where she put the lasagna pan after she made you dinner. 

     

    Give her the gift of spending time with you and her grandchild.  Let her spoil this baby in the best sense of the word.  Let her hold this baby while you take an extra 10 minutes in the tub for yourself.  It doesn’t matter if she drives you nuts, or says the wrong things at the wrong time. 

     

    Or, if you are lucky, as I was, and your mother is your best friend, tell her and treasure her for today and for this moment, because who really knows what tomorrow will bring.

     

    I need to keep this article and remember to always be thankful to my mom for all that she does for us.  Just yesterday I told her I didn’t have a small pan for eggs and she told me she was going to bring me hers.  She came over and ended up making stuff in the kitchen and cleaning until 3 in the morning!  Then she woke up early to go straight to work.  When it comes to her kids there is never a moment’s hesitation to put our needs/wants in front of hers.  The ironic thing is that the people closest to you see the best of you but also the worst.  I know that it’s wrong but I do get annoyed with her at times and don’t show enough appreciation.  That’s why I think it’s so important to sometimes just sit down and reflect on our relationships.  That’s what I’m doing right now. 
     

    wks 4-6_12


    The Babysitter

     

    wks 4-6_8


     

Comments (61)

  • awww i love the sweetpeace! sniff sniff! What a nice baby sitter too! kekekekeke! OMG he’s grown so much and is such a handsome lil’ man~ you two must be soo proud! 

  • i love your pictures…thanks for the entry, it definitely makes me reevaluate my relationship with my mom and how i can try to become closer to her.

  • love all your pictures!!  and my mom is the same way. i mention one little thing to her and she’ll go out of her way to make sure i get it or it gets done.  she’s such an example of self-sacrifice.  

  • OmG. your baby is getting cuter and cuter as the weeks go by! :D and girl. you bounced back so fast! dang. =)

    awwwww.. your bella is so precious. LOVE the video of her rocking evan! so freaking cute! <3

  • what a great babysitter you have!  looks like everyone’s adjusting well.  evan is sooo cute.

    moms are the best!  last week my dad was telling me that he thinks i’m going a great job and he thinks it’s because i learned from my mom.  i thought that was a great compliment.

  • bella is so cute babysitting!! it’s so adorable how bella rocks evan! i love the froggie butt onesie it’s soo cute. btw what do u use to record your videos?

  • i’m so glad you updated so i can see more pics of your adorable evan!!  And that video of bella cracks me up!!!

  • the baby is gorgeous!!  your pump station excerpt brought tears to my eyes, especially since today would have been my mom’s 59th bday… we all have moments of irritation and frustration with our moms but telling them, even once, how much we love them and appreciate them is so very important…. give ur mom an extra hug today :)

  • such cute photos and i LOVED the video!  I only hope that my dog will be as good to my future baby!

  • aww the video is too cute! Great story about the mother. :)

  • Such a cutiepie!!! He is oh so precious!

  • oh my… he is just the cutest lil froggy ever!!! so alert already. dang, i wish my neighbors would take my dog for an hour every day!! that excerpt was very touching. my mom is my best friend and now that we live so far apart from each other, i envy all you ladies who have your mom right by your side. at least i’m going to see her tomorrow~yay! that’s a sweet pic of daddy and evan.

  • aww Bella is such a sweet babysitter & that is so nice of you guys to take Bella out!
    and btw i luv the lil froggy picture~ soooo cute! & your post about mother’s love made me tear up…since i miss my mom every single day here on the island so far from them =( you are lucky to have ur family so close by~ ^^

  • omg, he is just adorable…so tiny! i don’t even remember jacob ever being that small…enjoy this time because it will go by FAST!

  • the froggy butt and video are the best!!  =)

  • awwww sooo cute….bella rocking Evan hehe ^_^   just so adorable..all the pics .. i know i always get irritated with my mom… but then after i always regret it…..>.<

  • <3 <3 <3 your entry!  evan is getting so big and adorable =D

  • that video of bella rocking evan is so cute! 

    i totally agree that we tend to treat our loved ones the worst even though in our hearts we love them the most.  i think it’s because we’re usually the most comfortable around the people we love the most and we also expect them to be more understanding when we take things out on them, hahaha.  i feel like i do that a lot in my marriage and am trying to be more conscious about when i take things out on j, hehe.

    i’m glad you are posting more often in spite of your busy mommy schedule.  i miss you!

  • OMG…love love love the video of Bella rocking baby Evan!! It’s like sibling love!!

    Baby Evan is so adorable!!!!

  • hi girl, i love your photos! and your baby is beautiful…glad you are posting more now!

  • He’s so cute.  My favorite picture is from week 4 with the green outfit ….just simply beautiful!

  • Just curious but how has Bella been adjusting?

  • E is so adorable… I am so in love with newborns lol… Bella is an awesome babysitter…

    that’s agreat article… I love my mom and everything she has done and still doing for me… and yes I do get annoy with her and don’t show enough appreciation.. I need to appreciate her more…

  • i love these pictures! i can’t stress more on that video of bella rocking evan! did i write 2 paragraphs in the e-mail about that? jk! i love evan’s expressions in the first picture, it’s great you captured them! and the bellatine’s day is too cute! last but not least, moms are the best! 

  • hey you~ i can’t believe its already been a little over a month! how time goes by so fast….you know they say once the baby is born everything seems to go by so much faster!
    I totally agree in how you feel about your mom too….i too get so much help from my mom and baby is not even here yet~ i appreciate her in every ways, but at times actions just doesn’t relay the exact messages…. its hard…great article…something we should always keep in our heart and remember.  Glad to see your post today…and E is looking as handsome as ever!!

    PS- Bella rocking the baby is the most cutest thing ever! and what a great timing for Bella, she gets to be loved by a new friend!

  • i LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE his “O” look in his 4-6 week pix.  i wonder why babies make that expression at that age..  it is the cutest thing!!!  omg, that video is hilarious!  does bella get jealous of evan?

  • SOOOO adorable!!!~ Both Bella and Evan! How cute!!!

  • great photos and the cutest baby ever! not to mention the featured pediatrician is HOT too! :D

  • does baby E have your eyes?? keke. sooo adowable.  that clip of bella rocking the baby is priceless!!! that is just tooo sweet~  btw: i totally get what you mean about you and your mom.  it’s not until after i had kyle that i realized HOW much she loves & cares for me.  my mom stayed with us for a month going back and forth to work, after taking care of the baby, being my nurse & slaving over the hot stove for us, and making sure everything was spick and span before leaving.  isn’t motherly love truely an amazing thing?  it was the first year i ever sent mom roses on MY birthday…. just to say thank you.  anyway, glad to see that you’re recovering so well, you look great! & baby E looks as healthy as can be as well. btw: great pictures!  hope to see you back soon! 

  • Um, did I just see Bella ROCKING EVAN???  What?!! no way, can you please post a longer video bc my brain refuses to register what my eyes just witnessed.

    Evan is frikkin adorable!! 

    You’re so good with posting!   ryc: I’ve been extremely lazy about posting… I’m slowly building motivation.  =)  but until then, I’m gonna enjoy yours!  xo~

  • bella reminds me of nana from peter pan heehee. and evan totally has your cheeks… arghhh cute overload!

  • oh my! love your pictures!!!
    Bella is so adorable~ being the best babysitter!
    Evan is toooooo cute! *melt*

  • That’s very cute video of the dog. Awww….

    How is the dog with the baby? I mean did the dog understand what’s the baby is about?

  • Hi hi !!!  Bella is such a big helper when it comes down to babysitting… u can tell she loves baby Evan too  =)  And yes, mother’s love is irreplaceable and we should treasure it every opportunity we have.  How many kgs was evan born with?

    Btw, how are you coping with the baby?!  I know its very tiring but so very rewarding right?!  take care !!!

  • You have a hot pediatrician LOL! 

  • i love evan’s facial expressions~!!! so cute i just wanna kiss him all over! he has a lot of A’s features but somehow i see a lot of you in him too. awww, you’re making me miss my mom. i’m so looking forward to my mom finally meeting callie in april and holding her for the first time. when my MIL was here with us, she totally fell in love with callie and would hold her for hrs and hrs at a time. spending time with their grandchild really is the greatest gift we can give to our mothers. :)

    i loooove seeing these photos of you & evan. keep ‘em coming! btw, which photo program are you using? it’s time for me to crank out an entry too and your photos inspire me.

  • HEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY! when did you have the baby!?! why am i not getting any of your updates!? omigod he’s soooo cute! congrats girl! what’s his nam and how the heck are you doing?

  • this is, quite possibly, your best post ever because: 1) your pediatrician is quite the looker LOL 2) the excerpt about mothers reminded me to love my mom 3) and the video clip of bella rocking the baby swing is precious! :D

  • wow! I love that you are keeping your xanga up to date!
    such beautiful photos!  Evan and Bella are too precious! :)
    and I love that excerpt you quoted, about a mother’s love.  I admit that I am guilty of “wishing that she would go away and stop nagging you”
    I need to learn to stop and appreciate the people in my life.  Thank you!

  • Oh, that little froggy bottom picture is so precious! I love how babies sleep like that- it makes them look like cute little bugs. :)   *lol* And I think it’s so nice that you were able to give Bella a special Valentine’s day just for herself. It’s amazing how sensitive dogs can be and just a little bit of extra attention and tlc and they’re good to go! The video of her rocking the sweetpeace is awesome! What a sweet, attentive furbaby you have!

    And I totally agree about the selflessness of mothers. I too am guilty of getting annoyed with mine and snapping when I shouldn’t. Actually, I find my patience threshold with my immediate family to be much less than I would have otherwise for most people so I should really work on that. It really is important to remember they will not always be with us and to cherish the moments we do have now.

  • Evan is so cute!!!!! the first 3 picture series was hilarious!!!! I loved it! =)

    The last video was just so cute, Bella’s so good to her buddy. =)

  • yay, new updates!! always look forward to them…love love love all the pics! your bella is soo pretty!  my faves are the ones w/ Lil E and the ubiquitous Bella together…*sniff sniff* i’m sucha terrible mommy to my two troublemakers at home…i should be showing them off! btw, thanks for the video jug link…i didn’t know sucha thing existed outside of youtube!  your photos look professionally shot and edited! what are you using and how are you doing it? thanks Evan Ohm-ma!

  • You got a mighty babysitter there!  Evan is so cute!

  • awwww, Bella is the best babysitter ever!  How wonderful she has a new friend now also?  Oh Jenny, reading your page made me feel so warm and fuzzy inside!  Thank you for sharing all your beautiful pictures and words with us! xoxo

  • The first series of three photos is fantastic! Evan’s face is already so emotive. Wow. I’m amazed at his development and I’m only getting a little peek at it. You must be overwhelmed with amazement from what you see everyday.

    Btw, did you guys train or encourage Bella to rock Evan? Or did she learn to do it on her own? Either way, it makes for the cutest moment!

  • @nomorepink - hi~ sorry for the late reply!  i record my videos on my little point & shoot [canon sd850].  i’m waiting for my flip mino hd which i’m sure has to be better than what i have now. 

  • @ka_woman - hey you!  i totally thought of you and my other friend while i was reading the article.  i was thinking of maybe not writing about it because i didn’t want you guys to be sad but then i thought maybe it could be nice to read about someone who understands.  i hope the article didn’t make you sad.  *hug* 

  • @GCake1105 - hi there!  bella is adjusting really well.  sometimes she’s really curious about the baby and other times she just ignores him.  his crying doesn’t even bother her anymore…hehe! 

  • @ccccmom - thanks buddy!  bella actually doesn’t get jealous of evan…thank goodness!  i don’t think i could handle doggy drama on top of baby duty.  you, my dear, are the super mama of all mamas…raising FOUR out of babyhood didn’t age you a bit!   

  • @K_G_C - hii!  i think evan has his daddy’s eyes along with everything else…hehe!  before evan was born i wished he would look just like his dad but now that he’s here i wish he looked a little like me too!  i think that’s the sweetest thing ever…how you sent your mom roses on your birthday.   

  • @elittlebear - hi there!  bella is great with the baby.  i think in her own way she understands that the baby is here to stay now and that he’s part of our family. 

  • @Ratinha - hi!  i don’t know in kgs but evan was 8 pounds 4 ounces when he was born.  i think he’s probably more than 12 pounds now~ he feels so heavy!  things with evan are great.  you’re so right…so tiring but it’s the most rewarding thing i’ve ever done.   

  • @wedBliss - hi sweetie!  i miss you~ i can’t wait until you visit in april!    re photo program~ you’ll love this website –> http://www.picnik.com.  it’s for photoshop dummies like me!  ooh~ can’t wait to read updates from ya…i’m on my way to your site right now!

  • @PetiteMandoo - hahahaha~ you crack me up!  thanks!  i had evan on 1/11!    i’m hanging in there~ still learning the ropes.  good thing i know great mamas like you because i have lots to learn! 

  • @caitoh - ubiquitous bella~ i love it!  your comment totally made me smile!    hey~ you’ve been hiding two little troublemakers at home?!  i haven’t seen photos of them on your xanga!  people with one dog are on my favorite list but people with more than one dog are on my super duper favorite list!  i could seriously sit and listen all day when people talk about their dogs…hehe!  anyways~ thanks so much re your comment about my photos!  it means a lot to me since (1) i don’t think i’m that great and i’m always trying to improve and (2) i loveee taking photos!  you have to check out this site –> http://www.picnik.com.  it’s this free photo editing site and it’s super easy and fun to use! 

  • @spiritedsherry - hi!  i don’t know where or how but bella learned to rock evan…hehe!  thank goodness i got that moment on video or else i’m sure no one would’ve believed me.  it happened and i was sure it was some kind of fluke.  she did it again though and i was able to get it on video!   

  • @skippeeahn - no, it didn’t make me sad but it caught me on a tough day (her bday).  brought me back to when i first had the baby :) those mother-daughter moments are priceless, huh?  

  • @skippeeahn - well i’m here if you ever need any help!

  • i cannot believe that you have the energy to write such long posts when you have a newborn. you are seriously superwoman! i loved so many pics ~ the ones of evan pulling the zoolander poses in the first pics + the one of your mum fobbing evan are sooo funny. you’re so lucky to have your omma around . your post made me miss mine…

    bella must have been soooo happy when you took her out by herself ~ back to being baby #1. she’s adjusted to evan so well. such a good babysitter too. the video is just adorable!

  • CONGRATS!!!!!!!!! isnt the Trace Adkins song a beautiful one? =)

  • Yes, a mother’s love is so selfless. I need to not hide those appreciation.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *