November 15, 2010

  • Korea: The Movie!

    I’m so excited to share our Korea movie with you!  Andy did a fabulous job capturing a real life glimpse into our wonderful trip to visit our family and friends.  heart

    Korea 2010 from Jenny on Vimeo.

    Apologies to those who use Internet Explorer~ it might be choppy for you!  I highly recommend turning your vacation photos/videos into a mini-movie.  It’s priceless being able to relive precious moments.  I’ve already watched it more than 20 times and each time I still laugh and get teary-eyed. 

    I don’t have a lot of family in the U.S. so it was heartwarming to be surrounded by my family and all their love.  I feel so lucky to have been able to spend time with them…especially my grandparents.  They are both such amazing people.  They raised me when I was little and my parents were in the U.S.  My grandpa said that even years after I left he would still turn around every time he heard a child yelling harabuji.   

    It was incredibly hard saying good-bye to my grandparents.  I cried so much because I didn’t know when I’d be able to see them again.  As we stood at the bus stop saying our final farewells…I hugged my grandma tightly as she wiped the tears from eyes, smiled and told me a few bits of advice. 

    * Pray every single day for those you love and for those who are less fortunate than you. 

    * Always wear blush.

    * Don’t forget to eat vegetables and exercise.

    * Always live with a thankful heart.

    We missed Evan so much but we talked to him every day on Skype and knew he was having a blast back home with his grandparents! 

    This wasn’t our typical resort/lounging type of vacation but it was even better. Some of my fondest memories will be…

    * Walking aimlessly through the streets of Seoul in the rain and eating fried chicken & ice cream at 3 in the morning.

    * Eating the best Korean food ever.

    * Being on a Korean TV show, hehe.

    * People watching in the subway at rush hour.

    * Relaxing in our room’s plunge pool & reminiscing about the olden days with my law school buddies.

    * All the laughter and love…those are the moments I’ll never forget.

    happy

Comments (48)

  • JENNY! love it!  your grandparents make me miss my grandma so much – what a beautiful time you had with them!  my grandma told me to always wear blush too :)   it’s something she did until the very end of her life….

  • Jenny! I loved your video! It brought tears to my eyes too seeing you with your grandparents, when you guys were hugging, I could see you didn’t want to let her go. The photo of you and your grandma (?) holding hands … I could go on forever. I made DVD movies for my friend when we went on our large group trips internationally and even though I’m super annoying with taking photos and videos, they are super happy to see the end results later.

    The hubs and I really want to visit … tickets were way too expensive this year but we definitely plan to go next year, I’ll have to trouble you for recommendations!

  • jenny is that a korean celebrity i spot in one of your photos? i’m going to search for that clip!  your grandma has some wonderful advice and she looks quite well! makes me miss my grandma even more. i love love love your photos. your comment about the ice cream made me giggle. come back to asia soon, we’ll go for ice cream again!

  • awww. i love your video! it’ll be so nice for your son to be able to watch all of your family documentaries. your hubby is so talented. what kind of equipment did you use if you don’t mind me asking? the video is so crisp and clear! 

  • oh my goodness!!! thank you for sharing your beautiful trip with us! made me smile and shed some tears. your grandmother reminds me so much of mine. you and andy are so cute! his korean is really good~he needs to teach art! :) as always, gorgeous photos.

  • what tv show were you on?!  my mom brought back the pororo doll for my daughter as well!  what hotel did you stay in that had a plunge pool?!  we’re thinking about going next april/may with ari as well.  sorta am and not looking forward to it.  =T

  • i miss korea so much!! haven’t been there since ’99. and the picture of you hugging your grandmother got me all teary eyed. i LOVE my grandparents. and that show! with lee jung jin! it was star date, right?!?!?! or… was it the star guerrilla on entertainment news? i saw that one! but i stopped watched in the middle of it to give nate a bath! how funny! glad to hear you guys had a great trip :)

  • that was awesome!  oh you make me miss korea so much.  i can’t wait to visit again. 

    what camera are you using?  your pics are looking gorgeous!!

  • Awesome! Looks like a great trip. I’d love to go someday. Your grandma gives good advice :)

  • it looks like your trip was so fun!  i really enjoyed watching the video.  It makes me want to visit Korea so bad!  I love looking through your photos. You take such great shots!!

  • the video was so perfect in every way~ perfect couple, perfect pictures, perfect trip! Kudos to Andy to helping you out with the video~ one of the best ever!!

  • I loved your video Jenny. It made me want to cry and I got teary eyed too. i love the advice your Grandma gave you.  Andy did such a good job with the video. I know how long it takes to make these videos and it’s so cool how he added different songs. You are a celebrity in my eye.

  • Your Korea trip looks like so much fun!  The movie is so touching~  and, your grandma gives great advice! 

  • thanks for sharing jenny! i loved every moment of the video… two thumbs up for andy! aw, your grandma is so cute and i love the advice she gave you.

    btw, i found the clip of the show on you tube. You come out at 3:30. Click HERE

  • @ka_woman - Thanks buddy!  It means a lot coming from the ultimate movie director…you!  =)

  • @JayMonKeee - Thanks!  That’s so awesome you made DVD movies for your friends~!  You’re totally creative and take such great photos so I’m sure the DVDs were really good.  You should share some of those~ would love to see them!  I really hope you get to visit Korea next year.  I’ll definitely tell you all the best places to go!  =)

  • @petitetokio - Yes~~ Lee Jung Jin!  The drama I remember him most in was Love Story in Harvard which was actually filmed at UCLA!  You totally understand the grandma/granddaughter bond.  I wish I could be back in Tokyo right now~ I loved eating ice cream with you and chatting the night away.  =)

  • @ciaobellavogue - Thanks!  I shoot video mostly with my point & shoot camera.  It’s called a Panasonic Lumix LX3.  Here’s the LINK to a newer version.  It shoots HD video so I love it!  A few of the shots were taken with my DSLR~ the Canon 5D Mark II.  I’m not very good with the video feature so I don’t use it much, hehe.

  • @HSookiC - Awww~ your grandma!  *hug*  I hope you’ll be able to visit Korea one day with A & M!  That’s the best way to learn~ Andy picked up so much Korean just by being there.  

  • @sue_shi - Lol~ it was just a short clip on a show called Entertainment Weekly!  I think they cut out the whole interview part though!  That Pororo doll was $40 at the airport~ my aunt insisted on buying it for Evan but we felt so bad.  We stayed at the Banyan Tree in Seoul~ it just opened this summer so it was really nice.  It would be such a great place to stay with Ari!  It’s part of a membership club (fitness/spa/golf) so they have all these activities and events for kids every week.  

  • @klariie - That’s so funny that you saw part of the show!  Yes~ I think it’s called Entertainment Weekly!  Wow, can’t believe you haven’t been back since ’99.  I really hope you have a chance to go back soon!!  

  • @justbee - Thanks buddy!  For most of my travel and daily pics I use my point & shoot~ the Pansonic Lumix LX3.  Here’s the LINK to a newer version.  I love it~~!  It’s a hybrid between a DSLR and p&s (sort of like the Canon G11).  The thing I love most is that it takes HD video which I used for most of the videos in my Korea video.  I use my DSLR (the Canon 5D Mark II) for portraits and special events.  I hope you have a chance to go back to Korea soon!!  =)  

  • @sooae - Thanks!!  Some mommies & I were just wondering about how you were doing!  Hope you’re hanging in there during the home stretch.  Can’t wait to hear some great news.  =)

  • @Rycecakes - LOL~ you, Jack & Trystan are the real celebrities!  I love you all!!!  =)

  • Jenny….ok I’m wiping a few tears away right now!  hahahah I feel like such a dork!  But Andy did such a great job putting the whole thing together.  I really loved all his song choices too! =)  Makes me miss my family in Korea so much~  I’m glad you got a chance to go see them.  Everything looked so endearing.  *Tear, again! 

  • @helenxmelon - Thanks for finding the clip~ you’re so awesome!!!  The funny thing is~ they cut out almost the whole part with the interview and everything…but I’m kind of glad they did!  =P

  • Oh my what a SWEET video, it makes me miss my grandmother (tear eye). The video is perfect way to show the city of Seoul!!!

  • LOVE the video! what program did you use to do it? perfect combo of clips/pictures.

  • I love the photos, the video.. and you were even on Korean TV?? Awesome!! The best photo for me.. the one on the passport. How did you do that?? keke

  • JENNY!i love love the video!!! you are sooo sooooo sooooooo talented!!!!i feel like i just watched a korean love story drama….sooo soooo sweet…. you guys make me fuzzy inside! love you and andy!!! see u tomorrow! xoxoxoxoxox

  • @skippeeahn - yes! entertainment weekly! that’s what it’s called. lol! yeah.. hopefully we’ll get to go back soon. esp b/c my MIL’s whole family is in korea and i haven’t had a chance to meet any of them yet. and they haven’t met the lil monster yet either. lol! 

  • those are beautiful pictures! makes me want to go on vacation again

  • jenny so happy to see you are so happy and doing well!!!  :)  The video was awesome…it did stop on me in the middle bc I use IE but of what i saw it looked amazing.  Andy is so talented.  Evan is a cutie!!!!!!!!!  Wow things have come truly full circle for you.  I teared up seeing those pics of you and your grandma….seriously, i miss mine so so much.  Anyway,  it’s my first log on in months and months….just wanted to say hi…

  • Such beautiful pictures and awesome video by Andy!!  Watching you hug your grandma brought tears to my eyes.  You are such a sweet and caring soul.  It was wonderful bumping into you the other night and great seeing Evan and Andy!  Seriously, Evan…so cute.  Please come over soon to play or we can go to the park…Ethan came down with something yesterday and was home sick today and probably tomorrow too so best to wait until all the sickies are out of our house for you guys to come over…Give Evan a big hug from Sophie and us!  

  • @cheendy - Thanks so much buddy!!  Your comments always make me feel warm & fuzzy.  Actually, just being around you always makes me feel warm & fuzzy because you’re such a sweet person.  =)

  • @efficientb2 - Thanks!  Andy used iMovie on our Mac.  =)

  • @katchoi - Thanks buddy!  I made the passport photo with Photoshop.  I just duplicated the photo and made it really small to fit in the spot where the photo goes on the passport.  =)

  • @falayah - Thanks so much buddy!  You are so so so sweet!  I’m so happy I got to bump into you at Target, hehe.  Remember the last time was at the Babies down the street?!  We like to frequent the same joints.  =)  I wish I could’ve gone to Ethan’s party~ Andy said it was so fun.  He likes your partying style.  =)  Ethan & I will both recover this week and then I can bring Evan over or you guys come over to our place.  Let’s try for the week after Thanksgiving!  =)

  • Ahhhh…Jenny…looking at the photos of you and your grandma made me cry!  You can see the love you have for her.  It makes me miss my grandma more who passed away on Matthew’s 1st birthday.  It is one of my biggest regrets that she didn’t get to see her first great-grandchild in person.  We had planned to take Matthew back when he was 15 months old to see her.  

  • OMG. You are too cute!! You are making me want to go to Korea. lol Why is it that you are always on tv shows? haha. 

  • hi skippee… the pics and vid was awesome… best xanga post ever!!!

  • halmoni!  what a great video,jenny!  makes me …almost… want to put one together for my korea trip.  

  • Your movie was awesome!! I just came back from Italy and i wished i did that too to capture all the memories. Your trip looked like soo much fun! Korean’s definitely a destination on my future travel list. =)

  • what program did you use to create the video?  i’ve never made one before, but now i’m inspired! :)

  • @joesee22 - Thanks buddy~~!  I totally remember what happened with your grandma.  =(  Your grandma may have never met Matthew in person but I’m positive that she was so proud and happy for you and loved Matthew sooo much.  *hug*

  • @donoree - Awww~ thanks buddy!  Good to see you Xanga-ing again!  =)

  • @justbee - iMovie!  If you don’t have a Mac you can use Windows Movie Maker.  It’s easy and I’m sure you would make the best movies since you’re so creative!  Imagine how happy your parents would be to see a movie with photos/videos of C!  Oh~~ maybe you could make one for C’s 1st birthday!  Even if you don’t show it at his party it would be such a wonderful keepsake.  We love Evan’s 1st year one (LINK) and I totally want to make one for his 2nd year too!  =)

  • I found the youtube clip, the game you played with the actor look so fun :)

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80MqbFcCqgo

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *