December 10, 2010

  • SHUTTERmoms & Photography Improvements

    SHUTTERmoms!

    Hi buddies~!  I’m trying to keep up my goal of blogging once a week.  Thanks to you and all your encouragement I’ve been on track.  This week I’m so excited to share with you a new photography workshop just for moms taught by the fabulous Tim Park.  I’ve been fortunate enough to help him in the planning process and I know this workshop will be awesome!  Here’s the basic info:

    * What:  SHUTTERmoms, a photography workshop just for moms!

    * Date:  Saturday, January 29, 2011 from 9:00am-12:30pm

    * Location:  Garvey Center in Rosemead

    * Fee:  $85 early bird and $105 after January 15, 2011

    * Why: It’ll be such an invaluable opportunity to improve your photography skills and meet other moms. I really hope to see you there!

    * Guess what?  Tim is offering a special discount for my friends.  Here’s the LINK to the website.  Just mention “skippee” when checking out and you’ll get an additional $10 off.  happy

    Photography Improvements

    I really encourage you to attend the SHUTTERmoms workshop because I’ve personally seen so much improvement in my photography skills after taking one of Tim’s workshops.  Not only is he a talented photographer but he is also a gifted teacher.  I’ve attended numerous photography workshops but most of the time things just flew over my head or I didn’t gain that much out of the experience.  After Tim’s workshop I felt like I learned so much and I use his tips every single day.  No wonder people from all across the U.S. fly in for his workshops!

    Here are some photos of Evan that are SOOC (“straight out of the camera”) before I took Tim’s workshop. 

    Tim mentioned that parents take a lot of the same portraits of their kids over and over again.  I realized that I often fell into that same trap~LOL!  Looking back I wish I had taken more detail shots, more shots of the background, etc. to know what the story behind the photo was.  Where were we?  What were we doing?  The mundane details of the everyday become blurred into our memories but those are the things I often want to remember. 

    Here are some photos of Evan at a recent event~ the grand opening of Giggles N’ Hugs.  Can you see some improvement from my old photos?

    In the back of my mind I always have Tim’s tips on being a storyteller and director in taking photographs.  I try to capture what’s going on in the background and memorialize the story of that day.

    Tim also taught us to look for interesting compositions when taking photos.

    Tim inspired me to look beyond just taking portraits and to capture beautiful moments and interactions between people. 

    Portraits are great but I hope the next time you pick up your camera you’ll also try taking some background shots, details shots and candid moments to try to tell a story of your beautiful life!  heart

Comments (33)

  • awww, this is great jenny! my bil wanted to come but i guess not…hahaha
    miss you and the family! hope all is well!!!

  • beautiful picture! i’d consider taking this when/if i become a mom :)

  • your pictures are SOOO AMAZING!!!  I love
    seeing how much you’ve grown in just a year!!  Can’t wait for the
    workshop.  Tim definitely is amazing too! You both inspire me so much =)

  • @trueClassic - LOL~ you should totally tell your BIL to come!  What about your SIL too?  They should come together.  It’ll be so good for them!  Miss you too buddy!!!

  • i wish i could go to this!!!! you mamas are so lucky to have such a talented photographer/instructor easily accessible when needed! yes, it’s all about composition! your photos are amazing. keep up the good work!!

  • Wish I was in CA! Sounds like a great workshop. You’re right. I take the same portraits over and over again sometimes and get into a rut.

  • i’m just going to have to take tips from you darling!

  • love the shadow picture! i can totally see you as a story teller in your improved shots :)  

  • Awe i really want to go to Tim’s workshop again~had so much fun and learned so much from the last one!! that’s so awesome u persuaded him to do one just for mommies ;) you rock chin goo~ hooray!! :) ))

  • i just got a free workshop from you. 

  • will tim be having a regular photography workshop (not shuttermoms) in march like he did last yr? i’m going to be in LA in march for Jaden’s dohl and maybe if the timing is right I can attend one of his workshops! :)

  • The workshop sounds like it’s going to be awesome!  I wish I could go! I can see the improvement too in your storytelling skills. =)

  • J – you inspire me! I love getting snaphappy …. one day when I have mini subject of my own, maybe I’ll come take the class. Your photos are awesome!!!!!!!!!!

  • ohhh great pictures!!! I am very impressed girlie!!!!

  • i’m totally signing up!  thanks for the 411~

  • I’m going to sign up as well!

  • The very last photo is my absolute favorite! Look at all that joy!! Loving your talents.

  • this makes a lot of sense.. its better to have your pictures tell stories, even though the portraits come out so cute!! :P

  • @nomorepink - I just asked Tim and he said others have asked so he may offer it again in March.  I can’t believe J is already going to be ONE in just a few months!!

  • @skippeeahn - i hope he offers it near J’s bday LOL!!! he should seriously consider doing a pay per view of his workshops online! 

  • omg, that last set of photos as soooo sweet! I can totally hear him giglling and laughing and squiming away!

    wonderful pictures. :)

  • Is that your son? He’s so beautiful.
    And the pictures are all lovely, you’re very talented.

    I’m not a mother, and I don’t even live anywhere near California, so no workshop for me…LOL. :P

    I’ve stopped taking photos for about two years, because I’ve lost inspiration, and haven’t felt up to doing it.
    But looking at these most definitely has me inspired to start again. :)

  • Wow…your pictures did improve a lot!  just based on this post, i bet lots of moms are going to sign up.  you should be a salesperson.  i hope tim decides to offer another one in march…i’ll be in cali, too (my E2 is also turning one)! =)

  • Its sounds like so much fun, sucks I wont be here. But do you know if he offers this feb? not just a mom thing but just a newbie thing? thanks for the info.  and love all your picture, E grown up so fast.

  • wow, your pics look awesome!!  I especially love the first one. :)   I wish I could sign up, but I’ll be out of town by then. :(   Evan is such a cutie and your capture such perfect moments!

  • i am definitely a victim to the “portrait” trap…i focus so much on jacob’s face and him looking into the camera when i take pictures that i forget about what he’s doing or what’s around him…this post has inspired me to get a better camera than the dinky canon powershot that i bought years ago, but the problem is that i know NOTHING about cameras!

  • Jenny! I love your photos! I totally see a difference. You have the cutest lil model.  You’re so talented. i will try to make it if I can. 

  • Love Love LOVE the pictures. I really wish I could go to this!! 

  • Great pictures.  They do capture “more” of Evan.

  • I agree with you about taking candid pictures!  It tells story; it’s life.

  • I hope I can make it!  

  • i looooooooooove my evan bear~!!!!!! and miss you guys soo much!! this is such a great workshop you are doing!!! hope you guys have it again in a few years when i have kids hehe!!! :D

  • omg thank you soo much for those tips!!! i love the info and i think your new pictures are sooo great and an improvement too cuz they tell more of a story! thanks,d ear!! i so wish i was in la to take the classes too!!! arrrgh. maybe sometime soon…we’ll see!! xoxox ang

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *