Month: May 2011

  • May Days

    Helloooo!  While I should be relaxing in Vegas right now I’m sitting at home.  Last night we had everything set~ babysitting for Evan, babysitting for Bella, packed bags, a flight, car, hotel, etc.  We sat around at the airport debating whether we should wait around for the 3 hour flight delay.  We decided to just come back home.  There’s always next time!  At least I have a little time to relax before embarking on our weekend adventure to Palm Springs. 

    Oprah

    Yesterday was the final episode of The Oprah Winfrey Show.  I thought this would be a fitting moment to recap my blissful trip to see the show.  Back in September I got a call from Andy asking if I wanted to go to Chicago.  I just thought he had a meeting there.  Then he asked if I wanted to go see Oprah!!!  He had been writing to the show for the past year trying to get tickets knowing that it was the last season and that it was one of my lifelong dreams. 

    I was so surprised and overjoyed.  I was able to take one person so I picked my sister-in-law.  Andy sent us both off to Chicago for a whirlwind day.  The best part was that because he had written a special letter~ they gave us VIP 2nd row seats.  I felt like I won the lotto when we were sitting in the crowd of over 300 people and they suddenly called my name.

    The show was really strict about bringing anything into the studio – no phones, cameras, anything!  Although I don’t think I need photos to remember the thrill of being there~ being so close to Oprah and feeling the magic.  What a dream come true!

    [My Oprah debut was a close up of when they made a shocking announcement.  Too close~ lol!]

    It was coincidental that the episode featured the show Modern Family.  The next day I got to be an extra on the show! 

     

    Birthday 2011

    For someone who isn’t into making a big deal out of my own birthday I sure do get a ton of love from my family & friends!  In fact, Andy was laughing that there’s still yet another celebration coming up in a few weeks (way after my actual birthday).  How did I get so lucky?!  Thank you for all of you who made my birthday so special this year!

    I had a dinner with my mommy buddies, a joint celebration with my mil, a joint celebration with Gina and a dinner with my law school buddies!

    [A special thanks to Captain Kim~ on a stopover from his duties in Iraq as a JAG attorney!]

    Gratitude 

    I’ve been under a lot of stress lately…too complicated to detail here.  Although it’s hard to remember gratitude in unpleasant situations I think it really does help.  The other day I was backing my car out and hit a pole.  The first estimate we got was up to $3000.  I was bummed but realized I should be thankful~ instead of the pole I could’ve hit my neighbor’s brand new $150k car (which was parked on the other side)~ lol!  That’s just a small example but even for bigger things it helps me to try to feel gratitude.  There are so many other things in life to be thankful for.  This is what I repeat to myself when things are tough.  Try it sometime~ maybe it’ll give you a little hope too.  happy

    May Days

    Evan is at an age where he can drive us crazy one moment but then also have us laughing until our bellies hurt.  One minute he’s scratching up the floor with his blocks because he’s frustrated about something or laying on the ground in the garage refusing to move.  Then in just an instant he’ll be gently holding Bella’s face and giving her a kiss or using a spatula as a mic as he dances around the house.  There are many moments I don’t know whether to cry or laugh~ lol! 

    [Lazy days at the park with buddies.]

    [A llama, a giant bunny and strawberries at a farmers’ market.]

    [Helping Bella fall asleep with his blankie and stuffed buddies.]

    Hope you all have a fabulous holiday weekend!  Don’t forget to take lots of photos & share!  happy

  • April Updates!

    Hi hi!  Hope you’ve all been doing great!  After a few weeks of bed rest and limited activity I’m finally starting to venture out.  Here’s a recap of our April~ can’t believe it’s already May!

    Evan + Bella

    These two make me laugh all the time!  Evan is almost fully potty trained now so diapers have become a toy, lol.  He buried Bella in diapers while she was sleeping.  When she woke up he apologized (Sorry Bella!) for laughing at her.   


    Easter 2011

    Learning Sympathy

    Evan made some new buddies while playing basketball.  Seth got in trouble from his dad for not sharing the ball so he ran off to cry.  Evan followed him and tried to make him feel better.  These moments are what totally melt my heart~ to know that my little guy is growing up to be such a good person and learning how to sympathize. 

    22 weeks

    I’m now 23 weeks but here are a few photos from last week!

     You will always be my first baby love.

    Homemade Cocktail Ring

    Can you tell which ring is homemade and which one is over $3000?  Even if a cocktail ring were $100 I wouldn’t want to pay that much for just a fun little toy.  So~ I made a ring out of one of the embellishments in my stash!   

    [left to right:  Kate Spade $125, my little creation, Barneys New York $3,675, Kate Space $125]

    I’ll be back with more updates but for now I’ll be busy catching up with what you’ve all been up to!  happy