October 18, 2005

  • Hey~ hi~ hello! 


     


    GREY’S ANATOMY


     


    I must start by saying that I love Grey’s Anatomy!  I even went on the ABC fan message boards…hahaha!  That one scene…where Burke climbed into the hospital bed to comfort Cristina…gosh, my heart just melted…


     


    WORK


     


    Anyways, please indulge me by listening to my complaining about work just for 1 or 2 sentences.  I’ve been having a rough time at work…at times it stinks…the long hours, the stress, sometimes the people.  Okay, I’m done. 


     


    VIDEOGRAPHER


     


    SO…please take a look at this site if you ever have a chance~ Fifty Foot Films


     


    Look under “Philosophy” and it’ll show you the diff btwn video, 8mm and 16mm.  Then if you look under “Screening Room” they have samples of wedding films.  I’ve been intrigued by Fifty Foot for so long now ever since I saw their work on this InStyle Weddings show featuring Scott Wolf’s wedding.  I just love film…it looks amazing.  The only problem with Fifty Foot is the price~ a decent package which includes sound and a good amount of footage is around $10k. 


     


    Does anyone know any good film videographers or just dang good videographers?  =)


    PHOTOGRAPHER


     


    Geez…never knew it would be so difficult to find a photographer.  I think Andy and I are just super picky! 


     


    Here are some of the must-haves for us:


    - all digital


    - want to be able to keep all digital hi-res files


    - 2 or more shooters


    - all printed proofs


    - someone with a fine art or photojournalist background


    - a photographer who can create an album that is a mix of traditional and graphically designed layouts


     


    Doesn’t seem like too much to ask…right?  I don’t know why it is taking us so long.


     


    For those of you looking for a photographer…


    We visited 11 different photographers and have been through soo many dang websites & reviews!  Here are the photographers we’ve visited and/or considered.  Click on any of the names if you’re interested and please let me know if you have qs!  We wanted to keep photography around $10k.  Most of these photographers have wide ranges of packages so budgets of all sizes can find what they’re looking for!


     


    Red Loft Studios


    -          Most likely going with Jenny! 


    -          We were so impressed with her work!  The website has good ones but she she’s got so much more in her studio!  There’s also this CD that she put together that I wish I could share!


     


    Ira Lippke


    -          Ira is probably our #2.  He has a fine art background.


    -          The only thing we didn’t like were his albums – just the traditional one photo per page format.  


     


    Jim Kennedy


    -          We almost went with Jim except that he was already set to sign someone up except he failed to mention that to us during our 1 hour meeting! 


    -          He is really talented…but not a good businessperson.  He should’ve told us that he was booked!


     


    Stephanie Brockman


    -          This is Jim’s wife.  She’s still in consideration since we really liked Jim’s work and he says they have the same style and albums.


     


    Paul Gero


    -          Paul is soo nice…but his packages are odd! 


    -          He doesn’t like shooting with a 2nd photographer.


    -          He doesn’t let you choose the images for the album and the only photos he gives you are the ones in the album. 


    -          He doesn’t give you any proofs…that was a deal breaker for us.


     


    Robert Evans


    -          Robert shot Brad & Jennifer’s wedding. 


    -          We thought his work was pretty good but we didn’t click.


     


    Isabel & Lawrence


    -          Husband & wife duo. 


    -          They only shoot in film and seemed pretty inflexible. 


    -          They are from the purist school of thought – they don’t even like to crop their photos because then it compromises the integrity of the original shot.


     


    Scott & Janice Gunnells


    -          Husband & wife duo. 


    -          They’re soo nice…such sweet people!  They’re really flexible too!


    -          They’re on the lower end of pricing – I think $2k-$4k. 


    -          We didn’t choose them because their photographic style wasn’t what we were looking for…but if anyone did fit someone’s style I’d highly recommend! 


     


    Kavan Lee


    -          This guy is funny!  He’s pretty outrageous and would definitely keep you laughing the whole time.


    -          We liked his albums – very creative but then we got the feeling that he relied too much on after-editing tricks.  Some people love it though and I did really like some of those “tricks” but he just wasn’t what we were looking for.  


    -          We were turned off by how he suddenly became a high pressure salesperson at the end of our meeting!


     


    Jack Randall


    -          He was sorta stuffy and very traditional. 


    -          He’s the type of guy you’d go for if you’re into the super posed and staged photos. 


     


    Karen French


    -          Karen is supposedly the most published wedding photographer in the U.S.


    -          I think her pricing was mostly above $10k.


    -          Her albums were sorta boring.


     


    Joe Buissink


    -          Celebrity wedding photographer – did photos for Hilary Swank, Christina Appelgate, many more.


    -          My buddy used him so please let me know if you’d like a more detailed review!   Her photos turned out great!


     


    Oh gosh, I realized there are soo many more on this list and not enough time to talk about each one.  Hopefully this will be a good starting point for anyone who is beginning their search! 


     


    Andrena Photo


    Doug Boutwell


    Jules Bianchi


    Tara Rochelle


    Barnet Photography


    Docu Vitae


    Bob Ortiz


    Miki and Sonja


    Simone Martin


    Slavin Photography


    ES Photo


    Joe Latter


    The Becker


    Jon Barber 


     

Comments (25)

  • i loooove grey’s anatomy too!! oh and laguna beach was so cute!! haha. just caught it on tivo. =)

  • I LOVE what you did in sharing your research/thoughts on different photographers!! LOVE IT!! I’m going to do the same with all my string quartet research I’m doing right now. I was mentioning to another bride that we probably all individually reinvent the wheel by individually contacting vendors and asking for their prices, etc. We could probably save alot of time if we shared our research together. I’m glad you’re narrowing down your search for your photographer. Btw, she hasnt gone on a single vendor’s appointment with you?? is that because your appointments are on weekends?

  • Wow! You are so thorough and so organized!!! I love Grey’s Anatomy too and the last scene was totally unexpected! Made me want to cry too.

    As for videographers, we went with Union Photography. I loved their style because it was different. They also make shortened versions for friends to watch. We wanted them for photography as well but they were already booked.

  • I love Sandra Oh on Grey’s Anatomy.  She’s such a good actress… says the most matter of fact things that crack me up.  I had never even heard of the show until I read a magazine article about it.  It’s so good!

  • just wanted to note that I also LOVE Grey’s Anatomy..I haven’t missed a show yet!

  • I love, I love, I LOVE Grey’s Anatomy!! Half the time I’m clutching my chest, reacting and yelling at the t.v.!! Ha ha ha.

    Don’t worry, skipparoo, things’ll get better for you with work.=) Ooh, and can’t wait for the wedding bells!! It was so good seeing you at the CLE conference. Have to meet up again soon! MUAH!

  • i love burke :O)

    i miss you! i’ll be back soon and catch myself up on everything!!

  • hey jenny! that guy on my page LOOKS like tom cruise, doesnt he?? it’s not actually him… ahhaahah anyways call me sometime! we need to catch up! i miss u!!!! *mwa*

  • ooh, thank you for compiling all this info. now i know where i’ll visit when i want to get inspiration. :)

    i seriously considered goign with red loft. my only reservation was that i wanted 2 photographers but wasn’t willing to spring for the expensive package. they’re great!

    robert evans work is awesome, i love it.

  • my sister used becker and he was pretty awesome… good luck finding your photog- I think it’s one of the more important vendors to get exactly what you want! 

  • hi! haven’t seen you updating your site for a while, i guess you’ve been busy! i hope your planning is going well. that is a great idea to get my nails done in both and see which one looks better. i know it’s so silly to be torn about nails, but i can’t help it! sorry about work stress, which totally doesn’t help anybody in any circumstance. luckily for me, my producer has scheduled things so i have it easy before the wedding (which is right now) and also a week off after the wedding. i can’t believe where the time went. a year and half of engagement is almost gone and wedding is in 20-something days! good luck with everything. :D

  • dang, sounds like its tough to find a good photographer. good luck~ i like greys anatomy too. but i’m addicited to lost. do you watch that?  sorry to hear you’re having a rough time at work… lets hang out soon and catch up~

  • hi jenny!!  great research list of photographers!!  i think my friend is using ira lippke for her wedding in a few weeks… i’m a bridesmaid in that wedding so i’ll let you know how he is ‘on-site’  :)

  • Okay, we should go for raw fish some time…ha ha! Actually, we had to cancel this Saturday because one of the girls is going to the UCLA football game, and can’t miss it because it’s family tradition for her to go to every home game.

  • hey thanks for the advice on the pictures!  oh, and where did you get the foofoo pics done?  hehehe

    what kind of practice are you in?

  • i’m sad that grey’s anatomy isn’t on here in london yet. boo!!
    i posted this before on this photographer. you can see the pix she took of my friend if you go down on the right side of my site. look for chibi-chan’s wedding pix or go here
    http://www.xanga.com/item.aspx?user=angelahappydot&tab=weblogs&uid=331802896
    she used this http://www.amazingjane.com/.
    good luck!!!!
    also, i tried jusspress and it didn’t seem to work on my video! booo! again. sigh. too bad. piper’s too funny!

  • Wow…you have been busy. My wedding is in 6 months and I haven’t booked a photographer yet!! I’m actually going to use your list to help me find a photogrpher soon. Thanks!

  • you’ve been busy, girl!!! hee hee. i just got an email from jusspress saying they’re having problems with their server cuz they’re getting a new one. maybe that’s why it didn’t work!!! good! hope eventually it does work. good luck with everything! it was a pain planning my wedding. ugh!

  • 11 photographers?!  wow, i only visited 3!  makes me feel lazy~ hehe  i didn’t want to see too many, because i felt like it would only confuse me more.  luckily i found the one i wanted early on!

  • Great info! I’m looking for a photographer myself and you have some great people on your list. Good luck!

  • I have a digital camera. I’ll do it for free.

  • Thanks for the tip!!! My wedding is next August..but I’m already stressed!! AAAHHHHH!!!! haha.. I’ll definitely have to check out Jenny’s work..and some more ppl on your list. Keep on posting wedding info~ *^^*

  • omg… i never knew finding a photographer was that tough! but if you think about it, photos are all that remain after the wedding so choosing what style of images to remember by… wow, i’m stressed just thinking about it. =)

  • oh ps. how do i subscribe to your page? i don’t see the usual subscription button… hmmm…

  • yes i looove grey’s anatomy too!!

    hey, is that korean show (like the bachelor) pretty good? I’d like to see it… what is it called. or if you can recommend any other good korean shows/dramas… that would be greeat!! thanks!!

    update pls!! we need more pictures of bella!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *