April 28, 2006

  • Wonderful Winnie


      


       


       


    Loving a dog is so amazing…yet when you see them sick and dying your heart breaks and you find yourself wondering if the pain is this awful…is it better not to fall in love in the first place?  Why do people have pets when they know their lives will end too soon and often in sad and painful ways?  That’s just the heartache talking…because you know that the love, laughter and priceless memories you’ve shared are worth the pain of the inevitable good-bye.


    Gosh, if only you knew Winnie.  When we first met her she had all these fleas and we washed her in the sink (she’s the biggest clean freak now so she’d be embarrassed that I’m sharing this).  She’d sit at the table and watch me eat…at first she’d be patient but then once it seemed like I wasn’t going to leave her anything she’d get totally annoyed with me and even bark sometimes.  She wasn’t a dog person…we’d go to the dog park and she’d just chill by herself.  She was so smart that she’d know whenever they got close to my house and she’d get happy whenever they said my name.  She was such a ladylike dog except when it came to her crazy loud bark.  She wasn’t a big fan of men or motorcycles.  She had the softest ear and foot fur on any dog I’ve ever met.  This one time she stole a chicken off the dining table and ate the whole thing!  I could go on and on…



    Winnie would be turning 9 in just a few days.  Although it just seems too soon for her to be gone…I knew…when I saw her taking her last breaths in her mommy’s arms…I knew that she’d finally be at peace.  She couldn’t have been more loved and adored.  We are so blessed to have had her as part of our lives.   I pray that one day it won’t hurt as much for us and we’ll just be happy remembering how wonderful she was.


     

Comments (17)

  • That made me totally tear up ¤Ð.¤Ð  I think it because dogs are so pure in their love and affection for you that it makes it that much more heartbreaking when you see them hurt and in pain.  I hate the thought of my doggies passing on.  Although it hurts terribly when they have to go, they really are such a blessing to have in your life. Hope you feel better…

  • Please send my condolences to Gina. I know how tough that can be. Still think about Koko from time to time and its still not easy.

  • Aww I’m so sorry about Winnie.  She was so young!  It will always be hard knowing you lost a pet, but you just have to focus on all of the great memories.  I lost my dog of 12+ years a few years back (she disappeared), and I haven’t recovered from it (I don’t think you ever completely do).  I still love her so much and even dream about her.  Still, I don’t regret having her because the joy that she brought to our lives is worth all the pain we’ve had to endure from her loss. 

    Stay strong. 

  • what a sweet dog!

    sorry about your loss.

  • I understand how you feel. We lost our dog to cancer last November, just 3 days after we came back from our honeymoon. He was only 9 1/2. It’s been 5 months and we still miss our dog so much so that we cry thinking about him. Our new puppy will not replace his place, after all, he is our first baby together. We didn’t even get to see him taking his last breath in our arms, that would’ve been the ideal. It makes us sad and break our hearts that last time he saw us was walking away from him while he whimpered and cried wanting us to take him home with us. He was put to sleep during the surgery because doctor said it’s best to not wake him up. It makes me cry to talk about it again.

    Yeah, I told my hubby I don’t think I can get another dog because losing Lou was so painful. But when you’re a dog person, you just can’t imagine your life without that special dog in your life. That unconditional love and cute fuzzy face cannot be filled with anything or any people. Having a pet in your life is so great that it’s worth the pain.

    I’m so sorry about the loss, and what a terrible thing it is. It will get better with time and let this be the celebration of having had such a special creature in your life. And be glad knowing Winni is in a good place.

  • aww… so sorry to hear about winnie. :( she was such a cutie….

  • sorry for your lost. what a beautiful dog. those pictures are so adorable.

  • omg, i’m sorry…

    i know what that feels like.

  • All dogs go to heaven! She was an adorable and loving! I have tear in my eyes just by reading your entry!

  • oh so wish i had met her. such a lady dog! i love winnie already! pets are great. i’m sad that i’m withouth piper and i know he’ll be mad when we return. sigh. at least fumi’s taking care of him and he likes her.

  • what a beautiful face… she has such bright and gentle eyes.

  • i’m so sorry!! she was a beautiful doggie!!

  • i like the picture of winnie in the shower cap~  i’m sure she’s watching over you and gina right now =)

  • what a beautiful dog Winnie was…i’m sorry to hear about your loss, babe   *big hug*  at least you’ll always have wonderful pics and memories

  • i’m sorry for your loss…i dread that day when one of my dog’s will pass on!  i think about it from time to time, because i feel like i’m running out of precious time with them!  they bring me so much love and joy – i can’t imagine life w/o them.  i guess all we can do is cherish the memories and celebrate the life they gave to us…

  • This almost made me cry at work. I worry already at the day when Chelsea’s time will come. I adopted her in November. I have no idea what her previous life was – she’s had multiple litters, has a scar on her nose. She’s turning 6 in a few months.

  • i love how she’s reading the bible…haha you are a wonderful mom :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *