April 24, 2008

  • Baby Shower & Scrapbook

                

    Hi everyone!  Sorry I’ve been MIA from Xanga.  I promise to try to be better at keeping up!  I did miss you all while I was gone.  There have been so many things going on…some of it is bad.  I have faith that things will get better though.  Maybe I can go into it later on protected.  Until then…here’s the happy stuff. 

     

    I recently helped plan a baby shower for my buddy, Katherine.  I was in charge of invitations and decorations.  I wish I had more time to make stuff!!  I was soo busy at work that I’d end up working all day and staying up all night making stuff.

    THE INVITES

     

    This is how it all started~ the doodle ducks:

    doodle ducks

     

    Here are a few photos of the invites:


    invites 1   
    invite 2 
    invite 4 

    THE SHOWER

     

    I used the Hostess with the Mostess site for guidance~ such an awesome site!  Things were so hectic the day of the shower that I barely got any photos.    Here are the few I got:


    paper flowers 
    ducks 
    congrats
     
     

    THE GIFT

     

    I really wanted to get Katherine a gift that could show her how truly blessed I feel to have a friend like her.  I made her a personalized scrapbook to document the baby’s first year and a camera to take photos to fill it with.  Take a look and let me know which page is your favorite!  I wish you could see the details~ the crystals, felt, ribbon, handcut letters, etc.~ you can click on it to get a better view or I guess you can just use your imagination…hehe! 

    1 - cover & camera 
    2 - page 1 and card 
    3 - welcome and 1 month

    I think the one below is my fave~ I drew the baby animals and used my Africa photos of baby animals to match.  I wish I had more time to work with it but this was the best I could do with the time crunch!
     
    4 - 2 and 3 months 
    5 - 100 days  6 - 4 months 
    7 - 5 months and halloween  
    8 - 6 months and thanksgiving  
    9 - 7 months and christmas  
    10 - 8 and 9 months 
    11 - 10 and 11 months 
    12 - 12 months 
    13 - last page
     

    I loved making the scrapbook!  I tried to hand-make every detail so that it would be special.  I know Katherine is going to be an amazing mom since she’s already such a truly caring and wonderful friend.  I’m so excited I’m going to be an auntie!!


Comments (64)

  • SO adorable!!!  

  • u are so crafty!! i love the invitations and your gift! so very thoughtful.  glad to see u back!!!

  • OMG, woman … where do you get all that time, energy & creativity from? you, my darling, are a superwoman. i’m getting all emotional seeing everything you did for katherine’s baby shower… what’s wrong with me? because even through the computer, i can all of your LOVE.

    what’s the bad news? hope everything is ok. post it on protected or email me … ok?

    btw, we’re thinking of doing a korea trip in may. are you still heading out there? if so, keep me posted .. maybe we can rendezvous in seoul.

  • You did a great job!  very touching gift and i’m sure the mommy appreciates all your hard work and dedication!

     I’m sorry about the bad news.

  • I was just thinking about you this morning and wondering where you’ve been. I hope whatever hardships you’ve been experiencing gets better soon!

    First of all, the doodle ducks are just ridiculously cute! I love the first guy on the left sitting up. The hair, the feet – I have a thing for animal feet!

    Secondly, the scrapbook is amazing!  What a wonderful, thoughtful & personal gift! My favorite pages are the ones with the baby animals tied in with the actual animals from the safari you went on. But the entire thing is just really beautiful & cute. And the camera? Wow- you’re such a generous friend!  I wish I had an inkling of your talent!

    BTW- I got my first set of aligners today for my invisalign treatment. I’m talking with a lisp! *lol* And unfortunately, I have 11 buttons that they’re going to be putting on my teeth in 2 weeks. :(   boo… And even worse is that the buttons are all across my front teeth! ugh… So much for being discreet.

  • you’re amazing!!  will you be my friend too?? 

    i used to feel that i was an awesome gift giver until this.  way to go.  :o )

  • OMG! you’re such an incredible friend and so artistic and crafty!! can you throw my baby shower too? :P i’ve missed your updates so welcome back! :)  

  • i love it!  the scrapbook came out really well.  i might need to steal your idea one day :)

  • hey sis!  it was great talking to you today.  i really needed the talk. :)   awww im sorry that some bad stuff is going on, u didnt tell me on the phone!  well we can talk when i see in 1 week!!!  omg im going to seee u sooon i cant wait.  the scrapbook is soo amazing!  we need to quit our day jobs and open a scrapbooking store, yeaa?? that would be sooo much fun!!!!!!  love ya!

  • WOW!  you’re soooo creative!  everything looks absolutely amazing!  i actually saw the duckie theme on the hostess’ site and made a mental note of it for any future gf’s baby showers.  you did even better than the hostess for sure!  hope your friend appreciated all your hard work!

  • you are such a good friend!  you can tell so much thought and love was put into making those gifts and invitations.  i bet your friend was so excited to receive your gift!

  • wow!  i had an idea that you were creative (looking at your photo taking skills and such!) but didn’t know you were so handy-dandy!  i’m sorry to hear there were bad things…but things seem to have a way of working out in the end, no?  stay positive (as always!)!  i’m sending you all the positive vibe from the east coast!  ((((((((hug))))))))

  • you’re so creative! what a sweet thing to do for your friend :)

  • WOW.  Everything is amazing!!!!  The invites, the scrapbook…..probably the best gift I’ve ever seen…so much thought and time went into it! =P

    and you’re really good at drawing!!!! 

    Great job!!  Post more!  (hope everything’s ok)

  • I’ve missed your updates, so glad you’re back.  And can I just say how TALENTED you are??  Wow!  You are an awesome artist!  Your animals are sooo cute!  I love your scrapbook, that is such a thoughtful gift.  Your friend is very lucky to have you.

  • wow, impressive! i love scrapbooking and making my own handmade cards. we should start a scrapbooking site! haha

  • @wedBliss - hii!  i’ll post something on protected later but will e-mail you first.  thanks for worrying about me~ i love ya!    that would be so awesome if i saw you in korea!!  details are still in the works as i write this.  we’re trying to find another place to go too…like bali, hainan or somewhere tropical.  we’re running out of time though~~!  i’ll let you know as soon as we finalize. 

  • hey girl ~ u beat me to it!  i was going to post up pics of the baby shower too! everyone said it already ~ i am so so LUCKY to have you. such a coincidence that u posted this up today because we went through the scrapbook again last night and we were in awe of every single little detail – i cannot believe u MADE that turkey and aeroplane and snowman etc. SO CRAZY. And we couldnt believe that u DREW those animals.you are seriously so talented. You are in th wrong field Jenny. You’re like the asian martha stewart of arts and crafts.

    hey u know what? I only found the card last night?? i thought the card was a decoration on the front page! i love you so much girl ~ big hugs and kisses to you!

  • @Daydreamer33 - awww…you’re so sweet to think of me!    i love that you love animal feet!!!  i have to dig up this photo of bella’s feet for ya…hehehe!  i’m so excited for you that you started invisalign~ you’re going to be soo happy with the results.  the buttons stink but it’ll all be worth it in the end!  how do you feel with them on?  i remember when i first got them they were so tight i couldn’t get them off myself so i had to go back to the orthodontist’s office to ask them to do it for me!  you’ll totally get used to it all though.  and it’s so convenient to take them off whenever you need to.  don’t forget to take a “before” photo so you can see the difference at the end! 

  • You are so crafty! But above all, so caring and dedicated to your friends. Your girls are truly lucky to have a friend like you.

  • wow, you’re so talented. i can tell u put a lot of time and thought into it!

  • what a great friend! that book is super cute and creative, too!

  • OMG, that is impressive!!!! If thats what you did w/ no time, I’d like to see what you can do when you have time! =)

  • wow!! very nice!!!!  your friends is very lucky to have you in her life as well ^^

    you’re very dedicated, putting in all that time and effort after a long day’s work.

  • It was truly a “honor” to have hosted the shower with you. ;) When it’s your turn I hope Katherine can follow you steps since they say “love is in the details” and you sure did shower her with much love. :) I hope to see you soon and next time, Kat and I will come up to LA. Take care and I’ll keep you in my prayers~ 

  • i heart all your hard work. can i be your friend???? not with child yet but geebus, that is friggin awesome!

  • That’s soooo cute!  Great job with everything.

  • Wow! you are so creative!  You make the prettiest invites and scrapbooks! 
    Glad to see you back on Xanga!

  • who knew you were so artistic! everything is so adorable! you mentioned some bad things have happened? I hope everything is ok…

  • WOW.  You have quite a talent for these things!!   Being that I have NO artistic bone in my body, I get very envious of creative and crafty people like you!    The scrapbook is FABULOUS….

  • everything is amazing! great job!

  • thanks for the phone chat and for listening today jenny ~ it was…interesting. we need to form a group. haha  hope you enjoyed your nengmyun and boolgogi =)

  • love the invitation you made for the baby shower!!!
    luck the yellow duckies!! :)
    i heart the scrap book you made!!! it’s beautiful!!!

  • wow. you’re superwoman. lol. =) katherine’s so lucky to have an amazing chingoo like you.. =)

  • Really nice…

    Scrapbooks are fun but it’s alot of materials, tools and energy put into it that I am lazy to make one.

  • The scrapbook is sooo cute! You made really good layouts :) I bet it was really time consuming and the duck theme is adorable ;o) 

  • omg jenny you are so freakin talented!  i can’t believe you drew all that and all on “crunch time” too!  WOW.  can you make me one too????  hahaha.  seriously you are in the wrong field, but i’m sure you’re an EXCELLENT lawyer too!  i’m sure you’re just good at everything you get your hands into!  katherine is SO lucky to have a friend like you =)  

    sorry to hear about the bad stuff that has been going on.  i hope it’s not TOO bad.

  • glad your back on xanga….ive missed your posts =) awww im sorry to hear that some bad stuff has been happening…but i hope things get better for you ~  and your scrap booking skills are soo awesome and sooo cute……the duckies are soo cute hehe ^_^

  • @k_mommy - nope, i think it’s the other way around and i’m so lucky to have YOU!!  i love you too!! 

  • so incredibly creative! the time and effort you put in shows.. =)

  • you’re AMAZING!!  if a friend were to give me an album like that i’d be completely blown away by the thoughtfulness!  i might not even want to add anything to it for fear of ruining it! :)   jk.

    p.s. any good shopping lately? :)

  • UNbelievable! The invites and the effort that you’ve put into them are just awesome!! =) 

  • You’re SOOOOOOOO creative and thoughtful!!! I’ll email you soon~ Miss you and BIG HUGS!

  • WOW!  You’re AWESOME!  Some serious kudos to you!  I can’t believe you made this terrific scrapbook!  Your friend is lucky to have you in her life. :)

  • Adorable! It looks like you put a lot of thought into every detail :)

  • awww thank you for your encouraging words ~ i know that a year or two is no big deal… but sometimes its just irritating on me >.<  ……..here is a mini for you ^^ :

  • omg, you seriously are so talented! i love your scrapbook, it’s so creative and thoughtful..even through the computer, i can feel the love that you have for your girlfriend!  and i hope everything is okay; i’m so glad that you’ve updated…it’s been so long!

  • hey whatcha doing skippee? ~ so shim-shim-heh here without stephen!

  • WOW that is so awesome!! You are soo talented!!! She is so so lucky to have you as a friend

  • When I first glanced at this post I thought YOU were the one having the baby! LOL. Beautiful work.

  • Thank you so much for that site! I love it and I love all of your invites and gift! I an a big scrap book lover/maker too! Great Job!

  • wow….its so cute!! your friend is lucky to have you as a friend….very dedicated and talented…

  • it was nice meeting you at the shower. you did an amazing job with the other ladies, just with the planning & the detail. the scrap book is amazing and so are your hand-drawn pictures…

    have a lovely week!

  • adorable doodles of ducks :)

    the invitation & scrapbook are so cute!!!

    great job!!! you ARE very creative!!!

  • the scrapbook looks amazing. i’d say your friend is very lucky to have you in her life. :)

    hope everything else is going ok…

  • thanks for all the comments.  i just checked them and it made my day.

    you’re so sweet.  and creative.  love your baby scrapbook.  it truly was amazing!!

  • omg, how adorable, sucha good idea! I dunno how you do it? I would loove to do something like this for my friends too, but don’t i have a creative bone in my body…nice work, I’m sure your friend appreciated it!

  • hi jenny! can’t remember if i already commented on this blog already… but just in case (you have so many comments i coudln’t browse thru them all! haha) anyways, your scrapbook is SOOOO cute. I’m completley obsessed with scrapbooking and am still working on one from my wedding. =) I especially love all the little animals!! I think scrapbooking is so therapeutic. hehe. anyways, hope you’re doing well~ we’re prob moving out to ny next year, so next time you’re in the city, lemme know and we should meet up! Oh, and steve’s working with UBS too… so maybe one day we’ll meet through the company. haha~ anyways, really enjoyed your post!

  • i love it all!!!!  i must’ve missed this post because i would have definitely commented on it sooner!!!!  i LOVE your book!  you’ll definite have to keep sharing!  what a great inspiration you are!  i’ve thrown and helped to throw over a dozen (i kid you not) showers in the past 2 years and couldn’t have possibly been as creative and crafty as you!  looking forward to seeing you on xanga more! 

  • wow! you did an amazing job! and the scrapbook is so awesome! great gift idea

  • dropping by through the KAM blogring…i just had to leave a comment b/c you did such an amazing job on the scrapbook & baby shower details!  wow!  oh, and congratulations on the pregnancy (welcome to the KAM blogring)! 

  • Omg, you’re so artistic and creative!  What a priceless gift to give your friend!  I’ll bet she’ll treasure it forever.

  • you INSPIRE me!!! i’m working on a scrapbook for a friend and i’ve just been in a slump…i love every page of your book!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *