March 9, 2010

  • Evan’s Birthday Bash!


    evan 1

    Evan’s birthday party was such an amazing event.  I remember at one point getting teary-eyed because I looked up and realized that our closest family and friends were all there to celebrate with us.  The thing that touched my heart the most was that they had also been there for us throughout the entire year.  The best part of the décor were their smiling faces.

     

     

    The Dol

     

    Non-Koreans often wonder why Koreans seem to have such extravagant parties for their children’s first birthdays.  The “dol” or “doljanchi” is a celebration of life and a tradition born out of an era in Korean history when babies often didn’t survive to their first birthdays due to malnutrition or illness.  In modern days we’re fortunate not to have such concerns thanks to medical advancements yet the celebrations continue.  For us, the dol wasn’t about throwing a big party…it was just about gathering our family and friends to share in our love for Evan and to commemorate the amazing year we traveled together.

     

    Here are some of the details from the party.  Photos were taken by our awesome photographer, Youkeun or by me.  Vendor reviews are in a post below.

     

     

    The Theme and Colors

     

    It all started with this little paper elephant.  I’ve had Martha Stewart’s elephant punch since before Evan was born.  I always knew I wanted to use this one day for my baby boy.  I finally had my chance.  I designed a logo out of it and used it throughout the party.  I also incorporated our safari photos into the décor.

     

    logo

     

    The colors I wanted to use were light blue, light green, yellow and silver/grey.  I was inspired by my dress and a pack of paper!

     

    colors

     

     

    The Invites

     

    We searched everywhere online for invites but we just didn’t find anything I loved.  We decided to make them ourselves.  Here’s what we came up with…

     

    invite 1

     

    We put a paper belt to keep the pieces together and also to hide the elephant.  When you first see the invite all you see is Evan but when you raise the belt you see the baby elephant!  We also included an advice card for people to fill out and bring to the party for a chance to win prizes.

     

    invite 2

     

     

    The Décor

     

    luggage

     

    I had a vision of what I wanted the centerpieces to look like but it took a lot of searching to find the right pieces — the vintage luggage, the stuffed animals, the grass, etc.

     

    decor 2

     

     

    The Food

     

    Andy, Evan and I love to eat so we had to make sure our guests were well fed.  We had the Kogi Truck serve all-you-can-eat Korean style tacos.  Even my mom’s friends knew about them and were excited!

     

    kogi truck


    The coolest thing about the party was that our talented family and friends made special dishes for us.  We had everything from Aunt Teresa’s famous 14 carrot cake to Grandma Ahn’s spinach salad.

     

    family food

     

    We also had a donut station where The Fry Girl made fresh mini donuts.  These are one of Oprah’s favorite treats so I knew they’d be a hit!

     

    fry girl

     

    We also had a sweets buffet!  Sophia did an awesome job of making it look picture perfect.  Evan’s Aunt Sandy made yummy cake pops.  You can check out Sandy’s blog for a tutorial on how to make them yourself!

     

    sweets buffet

    sweets 3 sweets 2 sweets 1 

     

    We had two machines that made different flavored coffees, hot chocolate and teas.

     

    coffee station

     

     

    The Floor Pillows

     

    I really wanted to make a comfortable floor seating area for families to sit with their babies so they could spread out and the babies could lay, crawl or walk around.  We (Andy & Jane) actually made 20 floor cushions!

     

    floor cushions 

    floor cushions 2 

     

     

    The Canvas Bags

     

    I made a bag for each of the baby guests personalized with their initial on the front and Evan’s logo on the back.  A lot of the things were the same (organic puffs, bubbles, blow up ball, book) but some things were personalized based on the baby’s age/gender (bib, toy, clothes, crayons, DVDs).  I really wanted to make each bag special for Evan’s best baby buddies.

     

    canvas bags 2  canvas bags 1

     

     

    The Slideshow

     

    Instead of a traditional slideshow we decided to make a video montage of our first year with Evan including photos, videos and commentary.  If you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the link…click me!

     

     

    The Doljabi

     

    The “doljabi” is a traditional event at each dol where items representing the baby’s future are lined up.  The baby is encouraged to pick one of the items which then signifies what their future will hold.  Guests were able to predict which one Evan would pick for a chance to win prizes.  Evan chose money!  It was so funny because he went right for it and started fanning the bills.

     

    doljabi 2

     

    My very talented friend from Dohl Posters and More designed a board illustrating the items Evan would choose from.

     

    doljabi 1

     

     

    The Thank You Cards


     thank you 2 thank you 1

     

     

    The Links

     

    I’m ecstatic that Evan’s party has been blogged about.  I was so surprised and happy when his party photos showed up in my Google reader from one of my favorite design blogs, Twig & Thistle!

     

    Here are a few of the links:

     

    Twig & Thistle

    Petite Productions

    Sandy a la Mode

    Youkeun Oh Photography

    Swanky Chicks

    The City Sage


     

    The Happy Ending

     

    It was pretty stressful trying to plan the party, especially because I made so many things by hand.  Luckily I had so many supportive family, friends and a team of awesome vendors to help.  There were many all-nighters, glue gun burns, paper cuts and countless trips to Michaels and Jo-Ann Fabrics but it was all worth it in the end.  I always say…love is in the details…so everything we put into creating this event was just a product of our love for Evan.




Comments (89)

  • again… amazing job!!!!!!!!

  • What a BEAUTIFUL looking party!  

  • jenny, this has to be one of the best dols i have EVER seen!!!! the amount of thought and details you put into this is absolutely amazing! i want one of those pom pom cone hats!! your dress is super cute too. i had a blast working with you and am honored to have worked with you! you need to submit these photos to martha–i bet she would feature it!

  • omg, you are just amazing!!! evan’s so lucky he has such an awesome mom!!! happy birthday evan!!!

  • OMG everything looks absolutely fabulous!  how long before did you start planning?!

  • This is the most beautiful party I have seen in a while. I love the detail you put in. I have been waiting to see your post on this since we decided to use elephants & giraffes ourselves for our daughters birthday. Gah the design detail you did is awesome!!! Have any pointers?

    Honestly I have to say every time you post I can see you love your little guy so much and you put so much care in what you do. Your husband and son are truly blessed to have you. 

  • Jenny you did such an amazing job!  I was wondering for a while if you were going to post about the party.  I loved how tied in everything was and obviously this was a labor of love on your part.  I admit even though Im not Chinese I want to throw a large 1st birthday for Jellybean (got to wait till he gets here first!).  We celebrate the 1st month in Chinese culture but I think I rather wait and do a special 1st birthday so Ill be able to participate more and plan everything myself.   I already have so many ideas and your party really gave me even more inspiration.  I hope I can do you proud.  happy birthday again to your precious Evan.  

  • OMG!!!  TOTALLY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • i keep STARING at all your pictures bc everything looks SO amazing.  everything came together so perfectly and beautifully.  great job, jenny!!!

  • wow, i love the elephant theme (funny because i used the same elephant punch to do huddy’s 2nd bday theme) and everything looked amazing!!! your dress is beautiful!

  • wow now that is a first birthday party!  that is one party i would have loved to attend!  kogi truck? donuts? candy buffet? yes please!  fantastic job!

  • you are ridiculously talented jenny! you’re right. love is definitely in the details. 

  • btw. i think i’m totally gonna try making those cake pops! i’ll let you know how it turns out. oh and where is your beautiful dress from?!

  • i never cease to be amazed by your creativity (and the creativity of your relatives)!  you always have such great and unique ideas!

  • First of all-I love the banner across the top of your page~! Everything about Evan’s Dol was so perfect and so darn CUTE!  Can I say I absolutely loveeee how crafty you are?!!! This is one of the most impressive Dol’s I have ever seen, not just because it looks so cute and perfect, but also because of all of the DIY details from the favors to even the seat cushions~just love it! You’re such an amazing mommy~&  Evan is soo soo lucky to have such loving family and friends~! 

  • you need to get a job as a party planner because this is quite possibly the nicest party i’ve ever seen.  i love how everything coordinates together!  you’re such a creative person and evan is so lucky to have such a dedicated mama!

  • Hi ! aww Evan is so lucky to have such a great mommy like you .. hehe =) His “dol” party you put together was so amazingly creative and so beautiful !!  looking at the pictures just makes me smile… i can’t wait till the video comes out! 

  • looks great!!  all that time and effort really paid off.  :)

  • all your hard work definitely paid off….one of the best dohl’s I’ve ever seen!  But besides all the decor, yummy eats, and gifts, more importantly….the love you and Andy have for Evan definitely showed that entire day.  Evan is one lucky boy to have such amazing parents.  Great job on everything, Jenny!  

  • this is the most beautiful dol decor i’ve ever seen! can i book with u for my second child?  =P  my baby J’s is this weekend and everythings still a mess

  • jenny, all i can say is WOW!!! looking at evan’s dohl photos was serious eye candy. i was so floored i had to share it with someone and that someone happened to be my husband and even he was impressed. okay, now i feel inadequate…i don’t think i have the energy or the creativity to do even one/tenth of what you did. i’m so amazed at your meticulous attention to detail and your ability to sew! you’re the korean martha stewart for sure! my favorite thing was your thank you card…maybe i’ll have to steal that idea if you don’t mind.  your dohl was so amazing, i’m so curious to know what your wedding looked like. i’m sure it was out of this world. thanks so much for sharing jenny. LOVED IT!

  • awww…I love it! I love elephants too!! We had our honeymoon in Thailand just so I can ride the elephants! You are so creative!! I wish I thought of that. LOL…don’t worry. I won’t steal your idea.  It’s a beautiful dol!!

  • Uh…I’m now seriously bummed we missed Evan’s party!  Basketball shmasketball…next time, I’m going to make Ethan’s coach reschedule the game.  It looks like it was amazing and you are seriously one talented party planner!  Sophie’s last minute park party celebration looks like a sad attempt.  Poor Sophie!  I’ll just have to make sure I never show her the pictures from Evan’s party!  Haha.  Playdate, soon!

  • Wow!!!…Girl, E is one lucky boy….you really did an awesome, awesome awesome, job….Girl, submit this on the 1st birthday fan site on FB….i have a friends who already planning her son’s DOL…what a great encouragement your work can for so many others….Girl, you and several of the other mamas should really start a business on helping people with their DOL’s or parities………..i can’t tell you how many more people would’ve been so clueless to do……Happy birthday handsome boy………….God truly has blessed you with a awesome family………..

  • A-mazing!  Little Evan is so lucky to have parents so full of love for him!  It looks like the celebration was so much fun for everyone!  You know, we have another mutual friend, Sophia!  We live in the same community in Irvine.  We seriously need to meet one of these days :)

  • wow!  you can totally feel the love and care that went into E’s dol!  BEAUTIFUL :)   and i love the elephants on the cake!! soooooo cute!

  • this is amazing, jenny! and love really is in the details.  i love the theme and the colors.  cute, but not too cutesy.  and all you can eat kogi truck?  nice.  when did evan meet a baby elephant?

    btw, i always know you have something good to share w/ us, when *i* get a billion comments on my entries from you. ;)

  • What a labor of love!  What a beautiful party you planned for your son.  My jaw dropped at every single picture!

  • By far one of the most AMAZING parties, I have ever seen! Geez Louise girl! Your hard work really paid off and you can totally see it, you left nothing out of the details and I drool at all of the detailicious stuff that you made!

    How did you make the tote bags? You crafty genius you!!!

    Can you throw me a party?

    My cousin told me about taco truck and says I have to try it when I am in the LA area and you guys were able to hire them, suh weet!!!!!!!!

  • oh yes, I was going to ask the same as tube, when did evan meet the baby elephant or was that some genius photo shopping?

  • looks like it was a great party!  did you make the banner behind the dohl table?  and how did you hang it?

  • What a beautiful dol!  I loved your centerpieces.  You are so creative!  Maybe I should hire you when I throw our next baby’s 1 year celebration.

  • that was amazing.  evan is definitely one lucky boy and you are one talented girl!

  • Wow!  It looks amazing!  :)   I didn’t know you were related to sandyalamode!  I enjoy her pics/recipes.  

  • what a fabulous party for Evan!  We are planning B’s first party (july) and I’m really amazed by your talent and LOVE for your little guy.  your family is so blessed!!!  thank you for sharing the special day with us.   : ]

  • You are so creative and everything from the decor to the food looks amazing!!!

  • What an amazing party!  It looks so nice – wish I was a guest!  I’m very impressed with your creativity! 

  • Jenny: You are truly blessed with lots of talent! Thank you for sharing your pictures and most of all thank you for sharing your references =) Love your xanga site!!!!

  • Wow, this has got to be the most AMAZING birthday party I have ever seen! Congrats!

  • Amazing!  You did such an awesome job.  I can’t believe how talented you are. :)   I will definitely have to pick your brain when my little boy turns one. :)

  • sooo well done!  the elephants are too cute.  and i love the kogi truck… sad they are not coming to nyc as soon as was planned.  anyway, i’m still in awe of your party planning skills!!

  • hi sweetie!!! no wonder you were stressed out, evan’s first bday safari theme party was W-O-W!!! you really put a lot of thoughts into planning this, all the little details and all the little touches, I love everything about it =). was bella there too? haha~ i’m so happy everything went well and that evan had a great time, cute grey suit btw! miss you girl, i hope you’re still coming in june =).

  • You are the most amazing Mommy and did such a wonderful job!  Happy Birthday Evan!  Hope to see the two of you soon!

  • Happy birthday to sweet, dear Evan!

    Goodness, girl, I wish I could be a guest at your parties!

  • what a beautifully planned dol! you did such an amazing job. i love all the details! :)

  • you my dear are officially the most talented person i know. super fantastic job on evan’s dol mama~!!! we had SO MUCH FUN and ate SO MUCH FOOD that day. all of your ideas including food were SO original~!! ps. i didn’t realize you made all those stuff~ WOW. :) )) 

  • Wow Jenny! You’ve got amazing vision and talent! Everything looks so picture perfect!

  • I love every single detail!  You should seriously start your own party planning company.  I’d hire you on the spot!  Your invitations were so hilarious~

  • @sue_shi - Thanks!  I thought about the things I wanted to do for the party from even before Evan was born but when it really came to planning it didn’t happen until a few months before.  Procrastinating meant lots of late nights! 

  • @orangemomo01 - Thank you so much for your kind words!  How exciting that you’re planning your baby’s party!  If you have any questions please let me know and hopefully I can help.   

  • @jellybeanandgus - Awww~ thanks so much!!  We didn’t do anything for the 1st month celebration so I just saved it all up for the birthday party, hehe.  I know you’ll do a fabulous job with Jellybean’s party!!  Even though it won’t be for a long time it’s never to soon to start daydreaming about it~! 

  • @hudson_umma - What a coincidink that you used the same punch for Huddy’s party!  Can’t wait to see how it all came together!  You have to post photos of the cake pops after you make them.    The dress is from Anthropologie~ I just looked but they don’t have it online anymore.  Maybe they’ll still have it at the store?

  • @jenniahn - Thanks!!  How exciting that baby J’s party is THIS weekend!!  We were a total mess the week before but luckily it all came together.  I’m sure the dol will be awesome.  You have to promise to please post photos!! 

  • @avamommy - Thanks buddy!  You’re so sweet and silly!  Of course you could do every single one of the things I did and even better.  I’m sure you wouldn’t procrastinate like me and get things done on time, hehe.  You should totally do the thank you card idea for something.  It’s super easy to do but still adds a personal touch.  It would be so cute to have A & A sitting behind the frame!! 

  • @suez_site - A fellow elephant lover~~ yay!  That’s so cute that you wanted to go to Thailand so you could ride the elephants!  You should have an elephant theme for L’s dol!  You can do a lot of the same stuff~ just make it a little girlier. 

  • @falayah - No, I’M bummed you guys couldn’t make it.  I wanted to see Sophie wearing one of the party hats, hehe.  Hey~ I loved Sophie’s party!!  It still makes me smile whenever I think of her with the cake all over her hands and face.  Playdate very soon please!  I miss my little Sophie (and you too)!  We just got back from Maui so our schedule is off and with daylight savings this weekend I don’t know when we’ll get back on track.  Let’s try for the week after next!

  • @babymomof2 - Awww…thank you so much for being so sweet!  I had help from such awesome vendors, friends and family that I can’t take any of the credit! 

  • @jeanxbeanx - Thanks buddy!  What a small world~~ that you know Sophia too!  She’s my high school friend and she coordinated the dol!  Yes, we definitely have to meet one day.  We were seriously meant to be buddies.  Can’t believe I’ve “known” you since even before I had Xanga when you guys were overseas and I loved your updates and daydreamed about my own little boy and white dog. 

  • @skippeeahn - huddy’s party isn’t until the end of the month and it’s incorporated as a side detail but will def post after. i hope i’ll have enough time and energy to make those pops! btw, i TOTALLY thought it was anthro dress – i love that store! you rocked it!

    seriously, i wish i lived in socal because there are more vendors and options to work w/ for dohls. very limited in the bay area and i did everything myself.

  • @tubecozy - Lol~ I do my Xanga-ing all in big chunks!  It’s too hard for me to keep up on a daily basis.  Oh and my friend once asked me why I even bother commenting when some of the posts are outdated but I just can’t help it sometimes, esp. for the people I like.    Thanks re the party!  Like I said before~ C’s party was one of my inspirations.  Thanks so much for the help with the frame idea.  I wish we could’ve used it at the party and did the whole set up like you guys.  We even took the frames (sans the mustaches which I didn’t have time to make) and then totally forgot to take photos.  I’m so glad I got to at least use them for the thank you card.  I wish Evan met an elephant but it was actually a photo from our safari.  Maybe one day he’ll get to go for real… 

  • @JayMonKeee - You crack me up buddy!!  Thanks for being so nice!  The tote bags were super easy to make!  For the letters I cut them out of fabric and the logo I printed out and ironed them both on.  Yes~ you have to try the Kogi Truck when you visit LA next.  Nowadays there are soo many trucks down here.  You could eat all day at trucks…copycat taco ones, Vietnamese ones, dessert ones, etc.  I wish Evan met a baby elephant but alas…only in the Photoshop world. 

  • @MissLJW - Thanks!  The balloon company actually made the banner behind the head table.  I just sent them the logo and they printed it on that huge banner.  They hung it by these post things that they let us borrow.  I saw the same sort of thing at Kinko’s if you want to do it yourself! 

  • @JL789 - Thanks!!  Sandy is my sister-in-law.  I love her blog too! 

  • @one_happy_bride - Thanks!  How exciting that B’s party is coming up!  I know July seems like a long time away but I’d say start early~~!  I ran out of time and couldn’t do everything I wanted.  Hope you’ll post about your planning!   

  • @Shen - Thank you so much for your kind words!  You put a big smile on my face! 

  • @AllThingsGirly29 - Thanks!  I didn’t know you had moved sites so I was happy to find your new blog.  I love it!  I just subscribed~! 

  • @MsYuMMieJ - Thanks so much buddy!  I wish you and the boys could’ve been there!  I wish Bella had been there too!  I got permission from the owner of the studio to have her come but then the adults (aka my parents and Andy’s parents) said no.  I’m still working on the June trip but I really hope I can see you then!!    You know what would’ve made the party perfect??  A Cupcake in Heels cupcake~~! 

  • @Rycecakes - I love you buddy!  I miss you & Mr. T!!!  I still haven’t seen Jack.  *sniff*  He’s going to be bigger than all of us by the time I get to see him. 

  • @wedBliss - Hello my love!  You are too crazy with your compliments~ I’m not talented!  I just try really hard, hehe.  I think you’re the one who is talented.  I loved C’s dol~ it was soooo nice and I went around and stared at each detail for long periods of time.  You should be happy to know that everything was very much appreciated and inspected, hehe. 

  • @Juanita_Noh - Thanks!!  I can’t take any of the credit other than the crazy ideas because I had lots of help from awesome vendors, family and friends.  Thanks for liking the invites~ they were one of my favorite things, hehe! 

  • Oh wow! You did such great job! love all your details, you must teach me, A dol coming up soon : ( so much planning to do.

  • My goodness!  You are SO talented!  Evan is SO SO lucky to have a GREAT parents like you… it takes alot of time, effort, and Patience to do all you did! I’m sure – he will be forever grateful for all you have documented on celebrating his life… Breathtaking – FOR SURE! 

  • it was one of the best party ever! you did such an amazing job! seriously E is soooo lucky to have you and A as parents! xoxo

  • omg this is the BEST ever dohl party ive ever seen & I literally cant stop looking at ur page & every detail im like stalking it haha! thanks for putting up all the vendor info too im definitely gonna come back to it when its time for warren’s 1st bday~! can u be my coordinator? keke u r SO talented i wish i was nearly as creative as u~ i want to do EVERYTHING the same from all ur DIY stuff that are SUPER cute i love the theme, colors, cone hats, vintage luggage, coffee station to kogi truck & donuts! can i just copy it exactly? omg i LoVVVVe it~ u have such good taste =) 

  • oh btw did u have a host for the party? and i lovvve evan’s hat in trueclassic’s photos~ where do find such cute stuff?

  • ahhh hehe i found the commment box :)

    this event, literally, is like the ideal example of like one of THE best coordinated, detailed, decorated, crafted, planned-out celebration… EVERRR!! you are amazing :)

    i gushed a little more in my ‘note’

    seems like this took forever to plan! greatgreat job unni~

    and you dont have enough pics of *you, up here :D

  • omg jenny! i love your new header!!! it’s soo cute!  E looks sooo young in that middle picture!!  the party was amazing i was soo happy to be able to help!  so awesome that it was featured on many other blogs as welll!!!!!! =) can’t wait to see you guys soon!!!!!!!!

  • WOW. Evan is a lucky boy. Awesome party, you don’t do anything half way. :)

  • @Mrs_Cho08 - Thanks buddy!  Hope planning is going well for A’s dol!  Let me know if you need any help or anything at all.  Can’t believe A is almost one!! 

  • @sooshipoo - Hi buddy!  Sorry for the late reply~ I haven’t been on Xanga these days.  Thank you so much for your kind words!!  I’m glad the vendor info can be helpful to you.  I loved our vendors so you should definitely check them out when it’s time to plan Warren’s party!  For the party I didn’t hire an emcee.  We just had one of our really good friends do it and he was great.  It was more meaningful too that he was able to be a big part of our day.  Thanks re Evan’s hat!  My friend actually got it for me from Korea.  Korea has the cutest baby things!!  You should also check out Gymboree and Etsy.com because they also have some super cute boy hats sometimes. 

  • @eikmommy - Thanks so much!  I really appreciate your sweet words! 

  • @carolc - Thanks again!!  You are just sooo nice and your comments make me smile!

  • OMG.. what a beautiful party! What a lucky baby boy! You have a great looking family. 

  • What an amazing bday! Beautifully done and very inspirational, I love all those little details!

  • hehe GREAT bash indeed! love th decos as always (so inspirational!) and you got the Kogi Truck! =)   especiall love the invites with him and the elephant  =D

  • omg you guys went all out……and KOGI TRUCK was there crazy!! ;P how much was it to rent them for the day? (:

  • The Dohl looks like it was meticulously planned and the pictures looks A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!  I can only dream that my little girl’s Dohl will be even half as good!  I better start planning now!  Seriously though – it looks awesome!  How much did you spend on everything?  (What was your budget?)

  • wow….cute-ness overload!! don’t know which is more adorable. was evan really sitting next to that baby elephant or was it photoshopped? just curious…

     I’m so happy to see evan grow up so much!!! you guys have such a blessed family!! <3

  • you’re soooooooooo talented. you should do something with your creativity man! what’s holding you back?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *