May 24, 2009

  • Skippee’s Birthday + A Few Favorites + A Deal


    evan_3


    Hi~!  We’re back from Michigan!  Evan & I are sick though.  Boo.  I still have to download my Maui & Michigan pics!!  I have so many things to post about but not enough time.  Boo.  We’re off to Palm Springs…all of us sick bunnies…at least we get to catch up on sleep and rest together.  Hope you have a great weekend!!


    Skippee’s Birthday


    The Big 3-0!


    P1020862


    I don’t like being the center of attention so I’ve happily passed many birthdays quietly with very little fanfare.  However, Andy and my friends made sure this one would be super special since I was turning 30!  I had two different birthday shindigs!  Thank you so much to my truly wonderful friends and Andy for helping me celebrate this big milestone.


    coast

    college buddies


    collage 1

    law buddies


    Xanga Book


    For one of my birthday gifts Andy made me a book of all of my Xanga posts from the past 5 years.  I burst into tears when he gave it to me because I was so touched.


    e_MG_2656

    e_MG_2657


    Andy had spent endless hours secretly putting this together for me.  It was no easy feat as he had to do it 3 times to make it perfect!  3 TIMES!!  The first one didn’t work because the chronology was reversed and the second one didn’t work because the quality wasn’t good enough.  I’m sure once was hard enough but to do it 3 times…I was speechless.  I can’t even fathom how tedious it was…it wasn’t just a matter of cutting & pasting…he actually had to create new layouts for each page and individually insert photos and text.


    53


    34


    The Past 5 Years


    The Xanga book is now one of my most prized possessions.  It isn’t just a book filled with photos and writing…it’s my life and who I’ve become in the past 5 years.  The joys, achievements, heartbreaks, festivities, amazing moments of life…all encapsulated into one book.  Reading through the book made me realize that I’ve come a long way in the past 5 years~


    I graduated from law school, passed the bar and went on my bar trip to Asia.  [here & here]

    I got Bella.  [here, here, here & here]

    I got engaged.  [here]

    I worked at 2 different law firms.

    I got married.    [here, here, here, here, here & here]

    We honeymooned in Italy & Bora Bora.  [here]

    I got Gracie [here & here] and then she passed away [here].

    I retired from law firm life.[here]

    I was pregnant.  [here]

    In between it all, I traveled to New York [here], Las Vegas [here], Michigan [here], Korea, Taiwan [here], Hawaii [here] and Hong Kong [here] several times.  I also traveled to South Africa [here & here], Koh Samui [here], Bali [here], Punta Mita [here], Cabo, Kansas City, Florida, D.C. [here] and Arizona.

    I had a baby!    [here]


    Way back when I was a little girl I had a bunch of dreams…become a lawyer, travel the world, find the love of my life, have a fabulous wedding and have a baby.  30 is a special age for me because all of those dreams have come true!


    A Few Favorites


    Favorite Gift


    I just received one of my all-time favorite gifts (other than the Xanga book) — a pair of earrings.  It wasn’t for my birthday, Mother’s Day, a push present, etc.  Andy just gave them to me to say “thank you for being such a good mom to Evan” and “I love you.”  I will never forget the words that came with the gift.


    _MG_2601


    I’m ecstatic but a part of me feels guilty having something so extravagant when the economy is terrible and people are struggling.  Once I get more comfortable with this whole thing I’ll wear them out more.  For now…even wearing it at home makes me so happy because it reminds me of the meaning behind this gift.

     

    Favorite Blanket


    Is it weird that I’m in love with a blanket??  I first found out about the Aden + Anais blankets when I saw that almost every single baby in my mommy & me group had one.  They said they loved it so I started my research.  I was curious why these blankets are so great since they’re much more expensive than regular receiving blankets.  I obsessed about them for a whole week – scouring the web for info.  I finally bought a bunch and oh how I wish I knew about these before!  Read Amazon reviews here.


    popup_blue


    The blankets are made from 100% cotton muslin breathable fabric.  Muslin has a light, open weave so air flows through the material.  I love how soft and thin the material is!  There are so many different uses~ I use it mostly as a stroller cover, for swaddling, as a blankie to lay on the ground and even to entertain Evan since he likes looking at the patterns.


     adenaniasuses


    A Great Deal!


    I’m so happy I can share another great deal with you!  My friend’s friend has an online baby boutique called Eggy.  They carry the Aden + Anais blankets!  There are so many cute things on the site in addition to the blankets.  The best part is that they offered me a special 30% discount!  Enter fandf30off at checkout.


    [
    Click me!]


Comments (66)

  • wow, i’ve never even thought about putting all my xanga entries into a book!! i can just imagine all the time your hubby put into making it…great job!! seeing evan in his bumbo, i can see how tiny he looks…SOO cute! i think the bumbo is the best baby invention ever…haha! happy 30th…seriously, life begins at 30, so live it up! btw, where do you live?

  • happy 30th birthday jenny!! you don’t look a day over 18! Wow. your hubby hit the spot with that xanga book! what a GREAT idea. hope you and baby feel better soon~!

  • Happy Belated Birthday Jenny!!!!!!!! 
    The xanga book and earrings are such precious gifts!!  Even though I’ve never met Andy…he’s an A+ in my book =)  Hope this 30th year of your life is full of more wonderful memories!

  • happy 30th birthday!  i’m so impressed by all the places you’ve traveled to.  and huge props to your huband for making the xanga book for you.  i would’ve cried too if i got that as a gift.  what a very special birthday present!

  • Aw. that is SO sweet of your hubby. You do not look 30! I’m glad to see someone living so happily and fulfilling their dreams..you’re an inspiration! 

  • you’re always so quiet about your bday that i didn’t even realize you turned 30 this year! happy happy happy birthday~ what a big milestone birthday! andy is truly the best husband in the entire whole world – you two are seriously the perfect couple, so creative, unique & thoughtful in giving gifts to each other. andy totally spoils you but you deserve every bit of it! i love the xanga book & the earrings! btw, were you wearing the earring at the playdate? i remember thinking, ‘wow, beautiful earrings’ but forgot to mention during the chaos we call our babies.

    i have a bunch of the aden+anais blankies and LOVE them. i always keep one in my diaper bag for nursing in public or for laying out anywhere to place calista. maybe i’ll pick up a few more with the discount.. thanks! =)

  • Love the idea of a xanga book! That’s such a treasure. And the earrings are gorgeous.

    Happy belated birthday!

  • you really are my role model. you have such an amazing life and you have such a good heart. happy birthday! may god bless you and your family even more! =)

  • Happy Birthday!! Those earrings are so lovely and classic… youre a lucky lady (and mom)
    I had to laugh at Evan’s cute expression in the pictures with the candles. In a ll the pictures with candles,he looks like he is in deep thought and  totally concentrating on the flames….  :)

  • wow. first off! HAPPY BELATED 30TH!!! you’ve definitely grown and achieved so much!! i’m super proud of you! :D and so happy to know you (even though it’s only through xanga.) lol. i have to run, but!!!
    dang. your andy is so amazing!! you seriously lucked out.. =)
    lastly! WEAR THE EARRINGS!! i never take mine off! :D except when i wanna wear dangly earrings occasionally.
    :D
    more later!

  • happy happy 30th birthday jenny! what a thoughtful gift from your husband. it must have been amazing to just flip through the book and see everything that you’ve achieved in the last five years <3 the earrings are lovely too of course! who doesn’t love a little bling hehe

  • Happy 30th!!!!   That xanga book is soooooo sweet!  I can’t imagine all the posts he had to go through and the 3 trials to make it perfect!  You deserve those earrings too, so if I were you I’d wear them everywhere!   That’s awesome you had such a great time on your birthday and trips.=)    For E’s dol, I bet you’ll think of FABULOUS ideas and won’t even need to refer to my little projects. =)  

  • the xanga book is a GREAT gift, andy is so thoughtful! i had so much fun clicking on your past post links, i can’t believe i’ve been reading you for so long!! it was so sad to read about gracie again :( all in all it’s so cool to see how you’ve gone from college to being a mommy now. time sure flies huh? have fun in palm springs and feel better! happy belated bday!!!!

  • happy birthday jenny!  that xanga book is the most amazing present ever!!! omg.  i can’t even begin to imagine trying to put all these entries into a book.  =)  E has grown sooo much.  He’s getting more and more adorable each and every day!

  • Happy birthday darling!!!!!!!!!! Your hubs is so thoughtful and so sweet!!!! i really need to send this post to the hubs and have him “learn” a few things from yours. :)

    I see you had yourself a fabulous birthday and well deserved. that present was awesome and just like a diary to look back on. :)

    wishing you all the fabulous things in this world for a special birthday girl! smoochies. xoxo.

    hope you enjoy palm springs and you and evan are no longer sickies. :0

  • Happy Birthday!  Wow… what a thoughtful and creative gift.  I like to read my old posts every once in awhile… having it on paper would make it even more enjoyable.

  • Awwww!!!! HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! the big 3-0!!! Congrats again!!! I’m so glad that you had a wonderful celebration~~Your hubby is truly sooo AWESOME~ i would have cried too if I recieved the xanga book~ he is seriously awesome to think of doing that~ i think he just gave you THE MOST perfect gift everrrrrr!  You are so lucky to have such a  thoughtful and sensetive n sweet hubbs!! I love the earings they are just too beautiful, you should rock’ them proudly as a statement of his love for you!   Evan is getting so big sittin in his bumbo~ sigh. Hes just too cute. Hope that we can have a playdate soon!

  • happy belated birthday!  love the book – go andy!  love the earrings!  i noticed them when we were over and thought they were beautiful.  i was going to say it outloud and then the thought totally fell out of my head! 

    i LOVE sophie’s aden & anais blankets!  i have them spreadout (one in the car, one in one stroller, one in another) so it feels like i need more.  the discount is perfect…thank you!

    we need to get together soon…our june is pretty packed (already!) but if you guys are free in july, we’d love to have you over!

  • that xanga book is awesome!!!  happy belated b-day!

  • happy 30th!  you seem like you are really living your dream-what a blessing!  i think your husband can make a living creating xanga books…i’ll be his first customer :)

  • HAPPPPY BIRTHDAYYYYY!!!! you so don’t look thirty at all ! you still look like your early 20′s hehe ^_^ when i read about your husband giving you the xanga book i got teary eyed too ~ he is just soo sweet…. he is an A+++ husband hehe every guy needs to learn from him ~ Evan looks soo cute as always… he is getting bigger and bigger everytime you post a new entry! you always have the most awesome pictures posted on ur xanga too! and you, your husband, and Evan are just such a perfect family… i hope to have a life like you when i turn 30…hehe .. i envy you soo much =) i learn all these new things from you everytime …awww your hubby is soo sweet for giving you just because earrings…they look so beautiful & glamorous!  ..and evan looks so happy in the 2nd picture where he is just giggling his heart out hehe so adorable …you have such a BEAUTIFUL LIFE ~ !

  • Happy 30th!!  Wow, you did alot in just five years!  Your hubby was very sweet for making that album.  What a keepsake!

  • Happy birthday! I would have never guessed that you were 30… you look fabulous! :)  

  • happy 30th bday, jenny!!! =) may your days be filled with more laughter, more joy, and more love!!! the xanga book is such a wonderful idea! props to your husband!
    and thx for the blanket link~ i’m going to get sommmmmmme! hehe…
    btw, have you heard of the blabla dolls? SO CUTE! =)

  • Your one lucky girl! Happy Bday. The book is such a great gift, your hubby is such a great guy for putting that together. I love the picture with his little hands with the earrings. I must say your good at taking photos, Evan is one lucky boy to have a mommy who can take great pictures.

    I saw the blankets on someone and was thinking of getting them, since they looked so light,  they sell them at kidsland too, but your deal is much better.  Thanks for the code.

  • Happy birthday, Jenny! Andy’s gift was so thoughtful, you have such a wonderful husband and happy life and I think you deserve it! You’re such a sweet, thoughtful person. To 30 more happy years, at least!

  • Skip, it was nice chatting with you a few days ago.  sorry I wasn’t back in LA to celebrate w/everyone else. look forward to catching up w/you, A, & E in person hopefully sooner than later!

  • HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEETIE!!!

    Andy’s super sweeeet!! No wonder he swept your feet away! He put so much thought into your gift, it’s so sentimental! I’m so amazed how patient he was (his LOVE for you!)! I can’t believe he gathered 5 years of all the wonderful milestones in one book! Uh, can he be Wing’s best friend? lol. I’m so happy you have such a loving husband who adores both you and Evan =).

    My turn to owe you an email! It was a busy month so I promise you’ll receive one from me soon! I was joking with Wing on Friday (his 30th bday too) that at least he got married and have a son before 30 years old! lol. Anyways sweetie, I’m so happy for you =). Your entries always bring a smile to my face, love love love reading them and looking at the pictures!! And again, you look absolutely gorgeous and still glowing!!!

    Tons of hugs & kisses!!! Happy birthday =).

  • Happy 30th birthday!!! OMG, your hubby is soooooooo sweet! i can’t believe he put all those things together for you.  TWO THUMBS up for Andy! you look great as always and Evan is just sooooo handsome!!! =)
    I love the picture of the earring and E’s little hands…did you take those pics?? your sooooo good! my goodness~
    a friend of mine gave me aden and anis swaddle and love it….
    btw, Eleni is here…will post soon. =)

  • happy birthday!!  looks like you had some wonderful celebrations….  your hubby is SOOO sweet…i actually got a lump in MY throat reading about how much time he took to make your xanga book.  what a wonderful gift!  and those diamonds…wow!    i love the pic of Evan laughing in his bumbo!

  • happy birthday jenny!  you are truly blessed and loved…thanks for sharing the past 5 years with everyone!  btw i can’t believe eyc is growing up so fast!

  • happy belated birthday!! your husband’s gift is soooo sweet and thoughtful! you look great! 

  • happy birthday!! =D tht’s so sweet of ur husband to compile your posts into a book.

  • Happy 30th birthday!  Thank you for sharing all your tips and insights!

  • i was looking at some of your old posts, and OMG. i can’t believe so much time has passed since we met on xanga… wow. O_O
    i’m gonna take a stroll down xanga memory lane now. =)
    happy memorial day!

  • umm, can andy teach few things to jung? 

  • Happy big 30!!!! Xanga book is such a thoughtful and sedimental gift Big props to Andy. The earrings were just icing on the cake. I look forward to your post every time I log in. I live vicariously through you. The places you have traveled.

  • what an awesome husband~!!!!…..Evans getting so big!……….BTW….I have those blankets and I love them!!! AWESOME

  • Happy 3-0 Birthday!!  

  • Wow!! You’re husband is super thoughtful and sweet.  I can only imagine how long that must’ve taken doing a xanga book.  Amazing!!! 

  • Happy Birthday… wow Ur hubbie seems like a real sweetie. Man now only if he could show my husband a thing or two about touching a womens heart.

  • Happy Birthday, Jenny! I’m in awe of all that you’ve accomplished by 30 yrs. I have a similar list of travel destinations and career/ life milestones, but I doubt I’d be able to cross them all off until I reach my 40s. I have no idea how you accomplish so much so quickly!

  • awww, evan’s daddy is so sweet! and a big Happy birthday to you! welcome to the 30′s.  your cake looks absolutely delicious!!!!! i just about licked my screen when i saw it! hope you guys are all feeling better! and thanks for the discount in regards to the aden and anais blankies! i was just about to get one for baby #2 so i can swaddle him up….i needed something lightweight and breathable since s.d. is HOT!

  • Happy 30th Birthday!!!  Okay okay…I think your Hubby wins the Best Hubby ever award!  I can’t believe how much time he must had spent on your Xanga book.  What a thoughtful gift.  LOL…love the earrings too!

  • Happy 30th Jenny!  Cutie Evan is getting so big! Your hubby is such a sweetheart.  The earrings are GORGEOUS and the book idea is just perfect!! I’m going to take a look at that blanket now.  Thanks for sharing!!!

  • The BIG 3-0!!! Happy birthday to a wonderful mom and wife!!  Hope all your wishes and dreams come true!

  • happy belated!!!

    the xanga book is awesome!!!i actually printed out the first 3 years…so that i could organized them by year for my scrapbook!!!what a great idea!!!

  • Happy belated birthday!  I LOVE my 30′s and I’m sure you will love yours.  BTW you DO NOT look 30!!!!  I was thinking you were a young mom, hahaha.

    How did your husband create that book.  That’s totally hi-tech.  I wanna do something like that for my husband for Father’s day but I was thinking more comic book style.

  • oh wow!!  i can’t believe my brother is sooo sweet!!  haha jk!  but
    i am really impressed that he made that xanga book, soo cool!!  and
    those earrings look gorgeous!  u definitely deserve them for being such
    a great wife and mommy!!!

    and guess what… we just got back from
    my honeymoon in hawaii.. and im SICK too!!  boOO!!!  we went hiking in
    kauai and it rained in the mountains and i was only wearing a
    bikini/dress and i think that’s how it all started.  i hope u and evan
    get well soon!!!!!

  • happy 30th birthday, skipee!  it sounded like it was wonderful and you truly deserve all that made you so happy.  your husband’s gifts were so incredibly thoughtful…and is he following in your crafty footsteps?  A needs to take some notes!

    evan is so so so so so so so so cute.

  • happy birthday!!!!!  and WOW that’s the most AMAZING gift your husband made you!  so sweet and thoughtful!!!! i’ve had xanga for 7+ years and i wanted to make a book also, but i’m too lazy!!!!  and those earrings are gorgeous!

    i love reading about all your new mommy finds…i’m seriously going to buy some of those blankets for my sister =)

  • Happy Birthday!  I love the Xanga book gift.  My husband would’ve never thought of something like that!

  • Happy 30th! It sounds like you have been blessed with so much! I will be turning the big 3-0 in a few weeks too. The Xanga scrapbook sounds spectacular, and Evan is adorable :D

  • thanks for the blanket rec.  i ordered a 4-pack with zoo animal prints.  lately, c’s been balling up his blanket and smushing them on his face when he sleeps, so i’d feel much better about that if the blankets are breathable. 

  • Happy birthday sweetie! You don’t even look older than 20!  You have to tell me your secrets :) .
    That Xanga book is such a cute idea. 
    What activities do you plan on doing in Palm Springs?

  • hi, i just saw you on today’s Doctor’s as well. You were asking the ob/gyn about eating for two. :)

  • HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY! I had no idea your a day before me =( awwwwwww that is so sweet of him! I need to tell Randy to make one for me haha =o) You really have traveled the world and I can’t wait to do that one day. What a fairytale ending =D 

  • happy belated 30th birthday jenny!  i can’t believe what andy got for you… definitely one of the sweetest and most thoughtful gifts i’ve ever heard of!  

  • happy belated birthday Jenny!  It sounds like everything is going amazingly well with Evan and life in general.  :)   Your xanga book looks great, what a great present Andy thought of… :)

  • Happy 30th Jenny!  I don’t know if I can read your blog anymore.  You have such a wonderful and blessed life.  But i guess if anyone deserves it…IT’S YOU!  And even though you’re a LOT younger than me….I have so much to learn from you.  As your older sister my only advice to you is to cherish everything life has to offer and ever take anything for granted. Here’s to you and here’s to enjoying your Dirty Thirties!!!

  • Happy belated 30th Jenny!  You’re such a sweet and awesome girl that I’m sure it was a no brainer for Andy to do give you all those lovely gifts.  :)

  • Wow, you’ve had a great five years! I hope I can only say the same when I’m 30 in five years. When did you have your birthday? I was on the 24th of May, when you wrote this post. Are you a Gemini, too? You look so young to be 30, but that’s great!

  • jenny!~

    I’m in Korea..!!! It is sticky and very hot~ I showed my grandma (who remembers you and your family) Evan pics, Andy pics, and pics of you and even pics of your mom!! hehe. My grandma was so happy to see familar faces and even an unfamiliar face EVAN! hehe..

    She said he was so 잘생겼어~~~ hahah

    well anyway.. i am so busy tutoring here.. I tutor 7 kids right now teaching 23 hours a week.. and I’m going to 한문class (to learn Chinese characters). Next week I’m going to start going to the gym. Every single person that I have met has been telling me that I’m fat :(   Everyone in Korea is sooo~ skinny.. argg..

    Anyway.. just wanted to say hi!~ and I miss EVAN! Say hi to Andy for me too :)

    -Gracie :)  

  • happy bday skippee!!!so glad you had lots of fanfare for this one! i am so impressed with andy’s effort with your xanga book. what an utter sweetheart!!! whata doll!! and your earrings are just gorgeous. sad you’re sick with evan; i am too. sigh. get better and love that 2ndpic of evan at the topi have tocheck out that blanketnow….

  • happy belated birthday :) what sweet gifts!!! it must have taken sooo much time to put that book together!

  • @MissKorea2004 - Grace!  Hiii!  I was so happy to hear from you!  Thanks so much for your comment~ you’re so sweet.  I love ya!  Your grandma is so nice too~ I hope I get to see her the next time she’s in America.  Dude, you are not fat.  You don’t need to go to the gym…you don’t want to be like those crazy stick thin girls.  You’re perfect.  I MISS YOU!!!!  You have to promise we’ll spend lots of time together when you get back…to make up for lost time.  *hug*

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *